We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
NZ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for short stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were on a short 2 day trip so wanted to be close to centre so we could walk places. Location was good, room compact but adequate for our situation. Only complaint was one lift was not working so there was great stress on the one working lift. Breakfast was good value. Due to street being closed with building work we had some confusion with airport shuttle picking us up from different street entrance. Overall though it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    1,689
    1,275
    411
    219
See reviews for
730
1,531
567
671
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great staff, clean hotel, great location, great price..... but the room was not soundproof. All night there were doors slamming and people running up and down the hall. Kept me awake for most of the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynorclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Room is very big (i traveled a alone but gave me a 3 people room), comfort and the toilet is clean. I like the free cookies in room. Room services is good. They kept my luggage in a safe place after I checked out and free of charge (need to pay if in Ibis!) and the staff are nice. I also stayed Ibis in Little Bourke Street at the same rate and same week, but the room and services are too far worse than Mercure Welcome

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great budget priced hotel, awesome cocktail bar with good specials, nice restaurant with a good breakfast selection and nice dinner, helpful staff, the concierge was very knowledgable and helpful. I would definatley stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venochik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Getting from this hotel to meetings at Melbourne Uni was easy and more convenient than staying near the uni. I had stayed at the hotel last year but found the place even better than the last visit. Service is friendly if you ask for it. I did nor eat at the hotel. The corridors can be a little noisy late at night. If only people could respect that others might be asleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Enjoyed the upgrade that I received. promptly checked in and told I had been upgraded to a king room. Found all staff very helpful, I used the free baggage storage until ready to go to airport. Have stayed before at this hotel and will again many times.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertBuddina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plock
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

During our stay we experienced superb service starting from the check-in upto checking-out. All the asked questions were unswered immediately, correctly and always with a friendly smile.
We liked the room very much due to its space and amenities, along with the great hotel location. Very close location to the old City Tram allowed to visit many historical sites of the City and this was we liked best!
We are traveling a lot, however, our stay in Melbourne was the most efficient and relaxing. In the hotel we felt as at home!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing