We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel is in a very cool central location, and really convenient for chinatown and some very trendy laneways.

The rooms are quite small comparatively, particularly the bathrooms, but certainly inkeeping with the price range.

The breakfast restaurant is quite nice with a reasonable selection, and the bar has a nice relaxed atmosphere with comfortable seating

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,505 - 3,511 of 4,294 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Cairns
42
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is the first time I have stayed at Mercure Welcome Melbourne as other visits I have stayed at the interconnecting sister hotel Grand Mercure on Swanston. The location is perfect and in short walking distance to shopping Myer and DJ's and Mall, live theatres, transport, China Town restaurants and shopping, the Casino and more. Don't expect luxury at this hotel, the beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows but the dripping tap and the self-service mini bar machine in the hallway outside our door kept me awake half the night. If noise is a problem for you then take ear plugs or stay elsewhere. We could hear no street noise but noise from within the hotel. Being Easter Weekend the hotel may have been busier than usual however we had to phone down for extra items even though we booked for three people there were two sets of cups/plates/cutlery etc. The items took 12 hours to arrive. We had a couple of lift issues and misinformation from concierge that found us chasing our tails but as I said this was a busy weekend with street closures for Anzac Parade etc. If you love to shop then this location is perfect as the entrance on Little Bourke Street is just a couple of shops away from the David Jones and Myer entrances which takes you through to the mall where you can catch the trams. We walked through China Town two blocks for "Dr Zhivargo" and three blocks for "Hairspray". On the way back we had the choice of dozens of restaurants, Thai, Chinese, Malay, Korean etc. There are many cafe's and restaurants on Swanston for breakfasts/ lunches too. When I wanted a coffee I could cross Swanston to Starbucks or make one in my room. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? I would not can the hotel but I would recommend to a friend to first try Grand Mercure on Swanston and if no accommodation available there maybe give the Welcome a shot as our experience might have been a one of since it was Easter weekend coupled with Anzac Day. Seems both hotels share the same staff but you might get a nicer room. Good Luck!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
1
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We don't know what at the 3rd day, your staff only change the rubbish bag. The 'old' rubbish bag still beside the rubbish bin without take away. Do we need put the recycle material in sepate bag? because part of the rubbish is PET bottle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
6
Reviewed April 27, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
adelaide
1
Reviewed April 26, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveler
Cairns
1
Reviewed April 26, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing