We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“young familys review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
adelaide
1
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect position you can walk to all the shops and transport. The hotel is wounderful and the staff were fantastic. We enjoyed all the facilaties the gym especially. Highly recomend it and would would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Grand Mercure is a great place to stay...so central to everything in the Melbourne CBD and a short walk to the city circle tram, Flinders St railway station, Southbank, MCG and Crown. Our room was great, with the separate sitting area and the bathroom was spotless and had everything we needed. We recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61Rosieposie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Perth
1
Reviewed January 11, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I visited Melbourne in October 2010 for the Titanic Exhibition at the Melbourne Museum and stayed for three nights at this hotel. Check in was prompt and efficient, reception staff were very friendly and helpful as was the concierge. My room was clean, modern and comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. Not much on offer in the minibar but it was sufficient. I was able to get a good nights rest, the room was quiet and comfortable. There is a good cocktail bar in the hotel, bar service was a little slow, but was friendly and the cocktail bar had a good vibe. I did not have breakfast in the hotel as there are plenty of cheaper options on Swanston Street. The location is perfect, close to everything, trams out front, plenty of taxis, minutes walk from Flinders Street Station. There is a nice small pool upstairs. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetConquistador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
sydney
1
Reviewed January 11, 2011

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourherrings
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Swanston Grand Mercure in Melbourne is well located in downtown surrounded by restaurants and malls. But great location also means it can be noisy & full of traffic at the lobby and surroundings. The room I stayed in was quite bare, very basic with not many furniture. A kettle, a bread toaster, and microwave oven were in the room, but there was barely any table to put it on. The room looks like very minimum was spent in building or renovating the hotel -- as if any moment, the hotel could pack up and shut down easily.

I stayed here for a week, but I regretted it because I found the room not cosy at all. And the cost was not cheap either. For the price I paid, I expected free internet access and breakfast, but got none of these. Internet/Wifi was very expensive here. So I would not recommend anyone who needs to use their internet to stay here.

I have learned my lesson well because I stayed in 3 different hotels also in Melbourne central, and I would not choose The Swanston. It is not bad, but it has nothing much to offer other than location. And it cannot really compete with other hotels. For the price you pay at Swanston, you would be better off somewhere else because there are plenty of nicer options in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilltriber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,340 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#86 of 161 in Melbourne
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing