We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a girl's weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed here with a friend for one night. The location is perfect- close to Bourke Street Mall but also close to great restaurants and bars. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Considering it's central location, it's really surprising how quiet the rooms are. We had a drink at the hotel bar before heading out and were impressed with the friendly service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,341 of 2,590 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2010

A great location for good restaurants, cafes and shopping. We went to see Mary Poppins while we were there which was fabulous. Friendly staff and good service and love the fact that you have a lounge room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish56Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Location is great, there was a hole in the wall in the bedroom, no room service/hotel services book in the room, there were tea bags left in the bottom of the kettle. The Louden had lovely food, but we didn't get drinks we ordered and then when we did get drinks they weren't what we ordered.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My husband & I have stayed at the Swanston quite a few times over the past 3 yrs. Its our favourite hotel to stay. The location is brilliant and the staff are always helpful. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. We cannot fault this hotel. Its exceptionally great value considering the location. We generally are in Melbourne for some occasion, so its fantastic that we can squeeze in half hour of shopping so easily. Parking is so handy!Early check in or late check out is never a problem. Great at Christmas time when you have lots of bags and need to drop off, refresh self and get back to the shops! We joined Accor because of this hotel and have recommended to many friends and family-they too have fallen in love with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Excellent central location, you could walk everywhere. Staff were always cheerful and more than happy to help with any enquiry or request you may have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaWA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

I stay at Grand Mecure in Melbourne CBD regularly. I have tried a few others, but keep coming back. Friendly, great location central to everything in Melbourne CBD, nice room, clean and comfortable, everything a traveller could want. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willfish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,313 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $109 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing