We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were more than happy with this hotel although it would have been nice to have a view from our window.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,361 - 2,367 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Mercure was perfect for our stay. We went to see Mary Poppins and the location couldn't be beatent. It only took us 5 minutes to walk to the theatre, and heaps of other places so we saved a heap on cab fares! The room was immaculately clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Hobart
1
Reviewed November 22, 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Gold Coast
1
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I can recommend staying at The Swantson due to its location with access to everything that you may need to stay. This was helpful as I had over an hour journey out of Melbourne to visit a relative via the trains and return over the two days and found being within a comfortable walking distance from The Flinders station was great. My room was very well set out, and clean. It was convenietn to have a few different eating facilities within the Hotel as I was very tired and did not want to leave to eat. All in all it was pleasant experience and I am looking forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
1
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I have stayed many times at both hotels on your site. I have always found your staff very helpfull and courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We chose to stay here during Melbourne Cup week, this was a great choice. Conveniently located to trams and trains to racecourses. The room was spacious for our 6 day stay. The bathroom was big enough for both of us. The lounge could do with a bit of an update. The bed was super comfortable, but the pillows could do with a little more fill. The hotel is well situated close to transport, restaurants and theatres. The Cocoon Bar was great to end the day has a good atmosphere. The Louden restaurant was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was always good, but our evening meal was sometimes great and other times ordinary. We had a car and found the off site parking quite easy. The Conceirge was really helpful with any request, he gave us some good directions on some well priced restaurants in the area. In fact all the staff were really friendly and helpful, this made our stay more enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel solely on location, but the staff etc are also a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
brisbane
2
Reviewed November 16, 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 161 in Melbourne
4,293 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
892 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing