We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable if slightly dated hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The location of this hotel is ideal for walking around the city and has front lobby access to the trams/taxis etc. The people working at the tourist desk are great - really helpful informative and friendly. The rooms themselves are a bit tired and dated but clean throughout. We had a room with 2 double beds as we were a family of four. The outside noise on a weekend can be heard at times throughout the night as you are right in city centre but is not overly worrying just something to be aware of if you are a light sleeper! We really loved the location but would have preferred the option of an extra room as travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavisFamilyx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,490 - 2,496 of 2,630 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2010

I booked the hotel through wotif.com - so I did get a great room rate - $133 per night. My main complaint was that I had asked for a room not near the elevator as my partner has trouble sleeping with noise - elevator noise being particularly bothersome to him. We were booked into a room directly beside the elevator. In addition, the room was not very clean & cigarette smoke was able to waft through the connecting door to our room (even though we were on a non-smoking floor). We complained to the service desk twice that someone was smoking in one of the rooms next to us - they said they would investigate it, however the smoking continued for our entire stay (4 days). When I got home, all my clothes and my suitcases stunk of smoke. Not a pleasant experience. However, the location of the hotel is ideal for walking around the city and access to the trams/taxis, etc. We did use roomservice as well & the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed for four nights. The staff were efficient, courteous and friendly. The room was basic but roomy enough and clean, with some noise from plumbing but nothing to deter one from staying again. The restaurant for dinner was fine, with good quality servings. One night the table service was slow but that was due to a large tour group. Breakfast is good at both restaurants with the top floor a bit more expensive and would suit business people. The location is great being right next to China Town and near to the Bourke St Mall. No views from our room unless you like old roofs and aircon plants.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyboomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This is a good hotel but i found it quite over priced.

Infact in the same building they have another hotel(Welcome Mercure) which is almost half its price with similar ambience.

Location is very good with some top retail & leisure spots at a walking distance.

Will not stay gain due to high price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

I write today to inform you of a Tout who operates out of your hotel, my wife and I stayed at the Swanston Hotel Melbourne Grand Mercure on Wednesday the 10th of March, we arrived at the hotel via the Airport Shuttle Service and had purchased return tickets back to the airport, the return trip was confirmed with xxxxx at your service desk for 9:30 am we were to stand and wait at the same spot as drop off, all good.




The next morning we confirmed the pick up spot for the Shuttle and waited in the lobby for three quarters of an hour, during this time we noticed a man of Middle Eastern appearance dressed in a suit walk in and out of the hotel several times, out the front of the hotel there were people waiting for taxis, some left in private cars with the assistance of the man in the suite.




At around 9:10 am we walked to the Shuttle pick up point, we were there for about fifteen minutes before being approached by the same man in the suit that we saw in the lobby earlier, he informed us the Shuttle service had just rang the hotel and would be twenty minuets late, now having just come back from Asia I wasn’t about to believe a stranger that approached me on the street so I went down to the hotel and check, they knew nothing about any phone call, I explained the situation to xxxxx at the service desk and he said that this wasn’t the first time this had happened, he assured me that he would pursue this matter further, he even left his desk and came up to the Shuttle pick up point to reassure us that he would follow up and report this matter with management.




Now if I had accepted the story of the late Shuttle I may have used this man's private car service as I’m sure many have in the past, fortunately I’m a member of a travel site called Trip Adviser and am aware of such con men, so as a courtesy to other members I will post a warning on Trip Adviser about the unsavory practices that occures in front of your hotel.




Yours Sincerely


xxxxxx xxxxxx


inaspin

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inaspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. The huge TV in the lounge was great. The king size bed was a huge bonus as not many hotel have king size beds. It was firm and very comfortable. To have white robes and slippers in the wardrobe, WOW! The bathroom was roomy and stylish. We could not hear any noise/s from the other rooms or corridor. It had a great view over the city street.
All staff we encountered were happy, polite and willing to help with any query/concern.
The hotel is very central, exceptionally clean and modern decor.
Will be 1st on our list when we return to Melbourne

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandjreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My husband had a business trip to Melbourne, so I tagged along. His company put us up at the Marriott, which was excellent. Due to cost, at the end of the trip, we switched to the Mercure, hoping that the large chain & the rating would give us a nice experience. Dead wrong. Spend a little more & get a hotel that's quiet.
The room was fine, it was clean. But the walls are paper-thin. We heard our neighbor's TV, coughing, phone conversations, and doors slamming in the hallway. Even on the 12th floor, we heard tons of street noise. The trams ring their bells constantly (the Marriott is not on a tram line). The Mercure is in the middle of Chinatown, and you can hear street performers (why are they allowed amplifiers???) and drunken sports fans returning from their games.
Internet was on the more expensive side - 50c/min or $27.50/day. It was much cheaper to pay $2 in the lobby for 15 min. Before I discovered that, I tried logging in from the room. It didn't work, but I called the desk & they sent someone immediately to fix it. Excellent service there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplehair59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,364 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 161 in Melbourne
2,595 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $122 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing