We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So handy to the big department stores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #86 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 17, 2014

When visiting Melbourne and when not staying with family I always stay at this hotel, it's perfect for shopping with all the department stores just around the corner. Rooms are a very good size, restaurant very nice and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingin5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Gingin5356,

Thank you for always staying with us when travelling to town (when not staying with your family).

We are happy to read that it is not just our central location that keeps you coming back.
We certainly look forward to see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
There are newer reviews for The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. The staffs are very helpful. We arrived earlier and we were able to check in :) The location of this hotel is very strategic. It is very convenient. Restaurants and shopping malls are reachable within the walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear Esther L,

Thank you for your kind words. I am absolutely thrilled to read that you had a wonderful experience in staying with us on your recent trip. Our location is fantastic and happy to learn that our team member was able to assist you with your early arrival.

WE look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The only reason I stay here is for its location. Its conveniently located to the Trams, taxis and all the Restaurants. Apart from its location, the hotel is pretty old. The toilet is getting worn out as well. Asking for anything in this hotel is a hassle. They charge for pretty much everything you ask for. WiFi in your room is a nightmare. Even after you purchase it for $20 their speed and usage is just so complicated. Asking for a late checkout is near to impossible. The most they give you is a noon check out which is a standard time around the world. However, their bed was really comfortable and thats what mattered alot !

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sahib A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sahib A,

Thank you for your recent patronage.
I am sorry to read that we did not tick all the boxes during your stay but appreciate you mentioning our fantastic location and comfortable bed.
Feedback such as yours allows us to identify areas of improvement and I thank you for providing a review.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in twin room with 2 double beds. It was clean and big enough for two comfortably. The shower/bath is a little old but still clean and big. The breakfast buffet was great and the bar was lovely. The staff were wonderful. Myer, Emporio, David Jones and H&M within a 3 minute walk. Trams in every direction at the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMarTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Dear KellyMarTown,

Thank you for your positive review and couldn't b ehappier to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us, and you made the most of our fantastic location to some of Melbourne's best shopping destinations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your your next shopping getaway.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family room, the room was big with plenty of space for the kids. Room was clean, bath and walls could do with a revamp, but not a big deal.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Both The buffet breakfast and the room service for dinner were great.
We loved that the hotel is very central, right in the middle of town, very convenient. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel131980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Bel131980,

Thanks for the great feedback.

We love having families in the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.

Our location is indeed fantastic, being right in the heart of the city with easy access to most attractions in & around Melbourne.

We look forward toi welcoming your family back to the hotel.

KInd regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

One of the best locations for business or pleasure but in need of a very extensive makeover. Everything is old and tired, the breakfast area is hard to find and the buffet breakfast is very forgettable. Rooms are basic and clean but old showers/baths, etc. That said, the front counter staff were very pleasant and helpful. The other problem - the hotel is over run with tour groups who all want to get into the only free lift and checkout at the same time as me! Better value and choice elsewhere.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy due to trams, etc. Back rooms have no view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaral1202158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Jaral1202158,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that your expectations were not met during your last stay with us. Appreciate you mentioning the pleasantness and helpfulness or our team member, as well as our fantastic location.

Hopefully we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights there, and both nights We heard noises from left right and centre. The water running from upstairs, walls were paper-thin so whispers are recommended. There was nothing grand about it. Probably would not stay if it wasn't central to everything. Food, geat shopping, transport are their only good points.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank winnc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Winn C,

Thank you for feedback.
I'm sorry to read that you did not have a great stay and for any inconveniences caused.
I am a little confused reading your feedback as generally we do not receive negative feedback about the water running noises at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure. If you have an opportunity, please let me know your room number or the name of the reservation was made under via email to myself on h3028-gm02@accor.com and I will endeavor to look into the matter & get back to you.

Once again, our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and delighted to read that you enjoyed our convenient location.

Thank you & kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
4,241 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing