We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #86 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 5, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robbie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,528)
There are newer reviews for The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

From the time we arrived until we left the staff were very friendly and everyone went out of their way to make our stay amazing. From booking us into our rooms on early arrival to compliments wine sent to our room just because.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Joanne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. We could not have been happier to read your words of encouragement on our team member.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed in Melbourne two weeks ago at the Swanston Grand Mercure, very very central. Rooms are ok, however you can hear the neighbour talking, so isolation could be better. Shame the bar closes to early.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Peter V,

Thank you for your recent patronage and for your time to provide feedback.
Aologize for the inconvenience caused.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

PS: For your time & effort in submitting your feedback through Tripadvisor, we will be selecting one lucky winner at the end of August to receive a voucher for 1 night accommodation & breakfast valid for 6 months. Thank you and good luck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rhtkiong
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room was great and the location was also good and very central.

Unfortunately, there were two huge tour groups staying at the same time and they monopolised all of the hotel's amenities, especially the breakfast restaurant. The staff, led by Karl (F+B manager), did their best to restore order and provide a service to the other guests, but they were overwhelmed. I feel the hotels have to decide what sort of guests they want.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Brian G,

Thank you for your recent patronage.
I am sorry to read about the inconvenience caused by the big groups we were hosting during your stay. Generally it was never been an issue as we were able to stagger their breakfast times without affecting the other patrons.

My apologies again for the inconveniences caused, hopefully we'll have the opportunity to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was one of those occasion i chose to splurge on. Based on the room charges, I expect nothing less. Yes, you get what you pay for. Great service, clean modern rooms and location.

Nice bar, they serve a delectable steak fillet with beer or wine. One of the best steaks I had in Melbourne without costing an arm or leg. No wonder I had the same meal 3 nights in a row. Kudos to the bartender, a fine hospitable gentlemen who makes you feel welcome on each visit. I'll recommend this hotel if you like me, who like to splurge once in a while.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank JA1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Prem35,

Thanks for your feedback,
Glad we had the opportunity to be part of your splurging occasion.
I will pass your feedback onto our teams including our Executive Chef. With so much dining competition in the area, it's reassuring to read glowing reports on our food & beverage. Thank you!

We look forward to your next splurging trip.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
4,241 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $119 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing