We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Friendly efficient staff very helpful situated right in the heart of Melbourne, close to pretty much everything with a tram stop right out the front. The rooms are really good size clean with comfortable beds. A great place to say walking distance to Bourke street mall and the emporium shopping centre and a short walk to Flinders Station

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inflight07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Inflight07,

Thank you for your review! We love receiving feedback from Senior Reviewers.

I'm glad the location of the hotel was ideal for your needs. It is certainly well placed for a shopping, theatre or sightseeing holiday.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next Melbourne visit!

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is situated right in the heart of Melbourne. The Bourke Street tram stop is at the hotel entrance. Rooms are a little dated but very comfortable. TV's in the room could be improved to latest HD but we didn't come to Melbourne to watch TV. Will stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Qld-traveller48,

Thanks for the great review. As a Top Contributor we appreciate your honest feedback and comparison to other hotels.
I'm pleased we met your expectations and your stay was enjoyable.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very busy CBD centre hotel but staff still friendly and helpful with good suggestions. Upgrade to King suite gave us very comfy bed with lounge/diner & modern bathroom and free wi-fi; convenient restaurant on site for good substantial breakfast available. Tram at the door, best shopping in town just around the corner, a short walk to many landmarks and famous places.

Room Tip: Higher floors are further from the nightlife noise and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Leone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Leone N,

Thanks for the great reveiw.
Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne vacation.
I'm glad you experienced the King suite and enjoyed its additional facilities & comfort.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Right in the centre of the shopping district, tram stop outside the front door. Standard queen room was as you would expect - plenty of room for luggage, desk, couch, etc. Bed firm but still comfortable. Bathroom a little tired but still clean and modern. Staff all very pleasant, especially concierge who couldn't have been more helpful. Room on 10th floor was very quiet. Happy to recommend this hotel to others - would stay again.

Room Tip: High floor away from lift will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pantsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Pantsii,

Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, not only because of the Hotel's location, but also the pleasantness of our team member, especially our Concierge. I will be sure to convey your kind words & we thank you for the recommendation.

WE look forwrad to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank PuPuiii
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in the heart of Melbourne, sourrounded by shopping centers, restaurants and tourist landmarks. It is easy to communicate to other areas in Melbourne as it is close to Melbourne Central Station. The tram stop just in front of the hotel, so it is easy to go anywhere within thd city.
The room is small but is clean, the staf are friendly. They are so quick in responding the guest's request.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Sotheara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Sotheara,

Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed Melbourne not just because of the Hotel's location, but also because of the attentiveness of our team member.
We look forward to seeing you back in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My partner and I checked into the hotel for one night during the week. I had booked the 'executive king room' at a rate of $249. I was less than impressed. The staff were not very customer friendly. My partner and I were ignored when we walked into the hotel by concierge and valet and it wasn't until we approached the desk that we were greeted (after passing 5 staff members). We were supplied with a complimentary bottle of white which I do appreciate. But customer service isn't my main issue.
The "executive" room we stayed in was dingy and small. There were marks all over the walls from chairs and the room was anything but spacious - especially the bedroom. The bathroom roof is tiny and the tiling itself seemed a little dodgy. My partners head nearly touched the roof when he had a shower and when washing his underarms knocked a tile that then moved.
I'm not usually one to complain but at $250 for one night I expected something a bit nicer, in saying that, the bed was extremely comfy and I'm glad that's the main reason we were there because the other factors were not cosy or comfortable at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teagan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Teagan,

Thank you for your email.
I have responded to your feedback via email as you've also conveyed the same feedback directly to us.

Kind regards,
Alex MIhardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,340 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#86 of 161 in Melbourne
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing