We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #85 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    1,165
    500
    113
    63
See reviews for
651
830
243
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This is an unremarkable hotel in a very good location. From the ugly, corridor lobby you take an ancient lift through unheated, beige communal areas and arrive at your beige door. The room is spacious and the bed is comfortable, but the pillows are much like sleeping on a polystyrene block. The paint, carpet and all fittings are very tired and the air-conditioning (which cycles on and off literally every two minutes through the night) was caked in dust. In the bathroom, all the splendour of 1983 awaits...they have the same toilet and tap fittings as my Nan's bathroom which was renovated around that time. The view from our window was primarily air-conditioning units, ramshackle tin roofing and dilapidated brick. Bit of a dump, really!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tpg_esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear tpg_esq,

Thank you for feedback. I'm sorry you did not have a great stay and for any inconvenience caused.
I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper & Maintenance Manager for their attention. Regarding the pillows, we do have variety of pillows available and should you have contacted our Housekeeping Department, we would have been able to organize an alternative pillows for you.

The same with your other concerns, should you have advised our team member of how unhappy you were with your room I can assure you we would have done everything possible to make your stay more comfortable, including moving you to an alternate room if necessary.

Best wishes for your future hotel stays.

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Between the buskers under our window and the tram bells we got very little sleep. The rooms are ok,the area is close to everything but if you need sleep then don't stay here. The staff were of no help apart from giving us ear plugs. They informed us that the buskers had the right to be outside the hotel but they could move them on. This did not happen,1st night they were still going at 1pm and tonight as I write this at 12.18pm it's still so loud that it is impossible to sleep. This is definitely a hotel for major party people,everyone else avoid.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, General Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Leanne,

Thank you for your feedback and apologies that your evening was disrupted by noise from trams and buskers. I have spoken to our city council regarding this aspect and we are able to ask the buskers to move on or contact a council officer to do this and will difinately follow this procedure for any future incidents.
My apologies that this wasn't done for you on this occasion and I have spoken to my management team also.
Yours sincerely, John Dickson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed recently with my two small children in a twin room. Loved the location, the pool, breakfast and room was roomier than I expected. Enjoyed that the window opened! could allow the fresh air in and the sounds of the city. Also drove there, $15 a day to park, 5 mins from hotel.

Got a deal that included breakfast, worth watching the Accor website.

Room Tip: We were in 706, happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgcelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Mgcelton,

Thanks for the positive feedback.
We love having families in the hotel.
The relaxation pool is perfect to entertain the kids. And delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and other facilities too.
We look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my 2 daughters who are in their late teens. What a great position! Trams were directly out the front door, walk around the corner and you were in Bourke street mall and directly out the side entrance was the new Emporium shopping centre. The hotel itself was great value for money. We arrived at 11 and they had a room ready for us straight away. We stayed in a standard/twin room which had 2 double beds and the hotel staff saw that there was 3 of us and set up a foldaway bed while we were out. One of the reasons for staying here was that each room had a kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge - all the conveniences you need without booking an apartment. The staff were lovely and there was always 3 or more manning the desks in the foyer. The cafe and bar were also extremely handy for a quick snack, meal or drink.

Room Tip: Room 917 was extremely quiet as it was up the back. It had no view but you are in the middle of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Morrys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. Our location is ideal to experience all Melbourne has to offer. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly look forward to have you and your family again on your next trip back to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent two nights in Melbourne, specifically to go to see 'Les Miserables'. Booked via Expedia months ago. Great central location, close (two blocks) to Her Majesty's Theatre. After we arrived we decided to go to see 'Wicked' at the Regent Theatre as well (also about two blocks from the hotel).

We were able to check in when we arrived at 11.00am and they were happy to store luggage after we checked out, as our flight home was later in the afternoon.

Comfortable bed, bathroom was fine, walls were a bit thin - could hear the noisy neighbours up late one night.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but there were a few different options available.

We caught the Skybus from the Airport which goes to Spencer Street Station, and from there you get on a free shuttle bus right to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Maccas37

Thank you for your positive review.
Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne trip, especially one like you just had earlier with short stroll to both Her Majesty & The Regent Theatre.
How excellent were those 2 shows? Les Miserable is one of my all-time fav musical and have seen this production 3 times so far.
I'm glad that our team was able to assist you with early arrival & stored your bags on your departure day.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not a new hotel, being Swanston St and dead centre city, but being this close to everything feels liberating and exciting. And the not new part is simply that you can tell the hotel has been 'refurbed'. The interior is lovely, with extra blanket and decor cushions to brighten the room. All furniture is new. The bath/shower is a little old, but practical. The new tiles brighten the bathroom.

The price is not cheap cheap, but you wouldn't want it to be! It is a good price for the location and proximity to everything.

We chose not to spend $35 a night for valet parking, instead choosing their preferred Parking Partner Wilson, Russel st 222 for discounted $15 a night parking. Be sure to have your Wilson ticket validated at reception. The walk is 5 mins down china town to the hotel, which isn't hard, but be aware there are two Wilson Parking centres on Russel St.

We were so busy meeting with friends on 7 mins walk Hardware Lane, Football at 15 mins walk MCG, movies 5 min walk Melbourne Central, QV Centre, Library and drinks and dinner at Chapel St, Tram 6 20mins, that we didn't get a chance to check out the pool, gym, resturant or breakfast.

Would stay here again for the lcoation and walking distance to everything, but always having the car it is a toss up if we needed the car close.

Forgot my iPhone wall charger; would be handy if they updated the radio to fit lightning USB, or had standard USB slots for charging in the rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 613. Surprisingly quiet during the night. Faced the north west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Neat09,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Top Contributor.
We're pleased to read that you had a great stay with us.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep.
I am pretty sure that the future guests can learn a thing or two from your informative feedback regarding the parking, etc.
We have plenty of telephone chargers in Housekeeping Department, and we would have been happy to loan one for you.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
4,204 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
764 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#79 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing