We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$128
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$240
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$96
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$195
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,665)
Filter reviews
2,665 results
Traveler rating
705
1,231
532
124
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
1,231
532
124
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cocoongreat locationsoul cafetwo double bedsdavid jonescentral locationbourke st mallaccor memberthe heart of the citya bit tiredvalet parkingbuffet breakfastyour doorsteproom was spacioustram stopstreet noisean upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,108 - 1,113 of 2,665 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a wonderful time staying at this hotel. Rooms were quite good, clean, comfortable and well serviced. Beds were comfortable. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel because there were too many great restaurants and cafés nearby. Didn't really see much of the staff as we didn't need them for anything, but those at reception were friendly and efficient. The pool was handy for a quick swim...not very big but we always had it to ourselves. Nice view through the glass walls and ceiling at the pool. As is the case with most of the hotels in the city, there was a charge for wifi unless you like to sit in the busy lobby.
The best thing about the hotel was its location, right in the centre of everything, close to shops, Chinatown, trams, the lanes etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Joanne E,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Reviewer. We're pleased your stay with us was wonderful.

The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep. I am glad that you also enjoyed our facilities & services and we look forward for your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Just finished an 8 night stay here - loved it!! The location is amazing. There is something magical about shopping in the city and being only a few blocks away from your room at all times. Super central. The one and only thing I will warn others about it because the city is so alive at night you may find it a bit nosiey esp weekends. However the location, room quality and great great service means I''ll be staying there whenever I'm in town :D

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank traveller610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Traveller610,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Senior Reviewer. We're pleased your stay with us was fantastic.

The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and major shopping destinations at your doorstep (now including H&M, as well as The Emporium as of the 16th of April).

We look forward to have you back on your future stays with us.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Location-wise, this hotel is perfect, on Swanston St near Little Bourke with great shops and restaurants nearby. The Comedy Festival was on, and they even have acts appearing in the hotel. We stayed for two nights and had a King room, which was very comfortable. View wasn't good, but we didn't expect it to be, but given the location, our room was very quiet. Staff were excellent, and very helpful, particularly if you wanted information about things to do in Melbourne. Check in and check out went very smoothly, and the Sky Bus stops on Little Bourke St. Swanston St is car free, and trams are plentiful. By using Swanston St and nearby Bourke St we could get trams to just about anywhere. Had a great meal in Chinatown, a few minutes walk away, and at a couple of others nearby. We loved our stay at The Swanston and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear The_Grumpster,

Thanks for the great review. It's great to see such positive comments from a Top Contributor. Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne vacation.
Good to see our staff were their super friendly & helpful selves.
We look forward to seeing you again.


Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews