We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Checked in dinner time, lady (Tessa) gave me some good recommendations and map for the city. Next day I got sick and again Tessa helped me find a DR, she arranged everything for me!! Give Tessa at front desk a pay rise !!! She was fantastic. Great service Thanks Tessa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnKorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear JohnKorn,

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement. Comments like this really do have a great impact on our team's commitment to impressing every guest. We can’t put into words how much great feedback matters & I have personally conveyed your positive feedback to Tessa.

Thank you again, and please let me know if I can be of assistance in any way when next you stay with us.

Warm regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    1,039
    450
    99
    50
See reviews for
582
739
219
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The staff friendliness is good, the room size is good, comfortable and clean. The noise is the number one complaint turning a 4 rating into a 2! The noise is never ending. Not the hotel itself but the nearby establishments which obviously have no noise restrictions enforced. I ended up trying to sleep with the TV going to drown out the noise! A very disrupted sleep was endured. The bar is another turn off. A great atmosphere let down by the length of wait in being served. Tried ordering a couple of drinks which took 12 minutes with only one customer in front of me. Not sure of issue? But the same issue occurred on the second round.
If sleep is not the number one requirement of the stay, then this is fantastic for the central location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Kazza880,

Thank you for your feedback.

We're pleased to see that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and really sorry to hear about your disrupted sleep due to the noise from the nearby constructions. I have conveyed your concerns regarding the delay in receiving your drinks to our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure the incident remains isolated.

We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Bang in the middle of the city but the room was really quiet. Could do with updating, especially the bathroom, but it was clean, tidy and comfortable. Perfect for a city break. Staff were very friendly and approachable and the price was good.

Room Tip: Probably away from the main street - we were in room 804 which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear SuzanneM,

Thank you for your feedback.

Indeed our location is fantastic for a city break, and our team are well known for being friendly & helpfull with reasonable rates.

We are planning to have the bathrooms refurbished in 2015.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of the city. Rooms are average, but very clean and tidy. Easy walking distance from the bus station from the airport. Plenty of food outlets just minutes away, including ones within the hotel.. Pokie machines were a bit of fun too. Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welingtonanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Wellingtonanna,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us.

We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel.

We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Australia.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel was a very convenient location, however it could do with a refurbishment. Staff were very helpful with directions. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. Difficult to get into by taxi as road works around at time of our stay.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ikscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear ikscott,

Thank you for your feedback & I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, breakfast & the helpfulness of our team member.

Unfortunately Lt Bourke Street is a bit of war-zone at the moment with different construction projects going on around the hotel, though fortunately most of these constructions would be completed in a few months.

Once again, our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in accessing the hotel during your stay with us, but I can assure that it won't be too long before it's back to normal again and an amazing shopping mall (The Emporium) for your enjoyment.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,755 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing