We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #81 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
wellington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of the city. Rooms are average, but very clean and tidy. Easy walking distance from the bus station from the airport. Plenty of food outlets just minutes away, including ones within the hotel.. Pokie machines were a bit of fun too. Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welingtonanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Wellingtonanna,

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us.

We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel.

We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Australia.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    1,137
    476
    108
    59
See reviews for
631
792
240
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel was a very convenient location, however it could do with a refurbishment. Staff were very helpful with directions. Breakfast was good and reasonably priced. Difficult to get into by taxi as road works around at time of our stay.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ikscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear ikscott,

Thank you for your feedback & I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, breakfast & the helpfulness of our team member.

Unfortunately Lt Bourke Street is a bit of war-zone at the moment with different construction projects going on around the hotel, though fortunately most of these constructions would be completed in a few months.

Once again, our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in accessing the hotel during your stay with us, but I can assure that it won't be too long before it's back to normal again and an amazing shopping mall (The Emporium) for your enjoyment.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed overnight at the Swanston Hotel Grand Mercure on 3 March 2014. I paid $189 through Qantas.com for a standard Queen bedroom.
When I checked in, the efficient staff gave me a free upgrade to a King room, which is normally $219, so this review is of the King room.

The main reason I stayed here was because it was centrally located. Its on Swanston st and close to Lonsdale st. You can easily walk to the Parliament building and Flinders St station is a couple of blocks down the road. There's a great bar close by - Curtin House which has a great selection of beer on tap.

Breakfast - The staff also offer a breakfast for $16.50, which seems reasonable, but I didn't take up, because I prefer to find a cool coffee shop in one of the alleys around the city.

The room.
The room was very comfortable and clean.
Other than that, not a lot different from most hotel rooms.
I liked the fact that you can open the window a bit to get some fresh air.

Checkout experience
Very smooth, the staff were all very helpful

Problems
- The TV signal in the room was poor, the TV hissed because it couldn't hold a channel. I wonder whether they haven't upgraded their internal cable and so its still running analog signals?

- I know this is minor, but the powerpoints on the workdesk aren't able to take fat power blocks, so if you're looking to charge your Ipad, find a different spot.

- The cost of Internet wifi , which like most hotels in Australia is complete theft.


A last point. This must be the only hotel in the world to have a Haighs chocolate store (http://www.haighschocolates.com.au/) in the lobby! To Melbournites and South Australians, Haighs is an institution. To my knowledge, Haighs is the only Australian chocolatier to have won an award from the world chocolate awards. The only chocolate that I've ever tasted which was as good was in Brussels. Anyway, suffice to say, I took advantage of Haighs being on my doorstep and spent way too much on their very expensive and very lovely chocolates to take home to the family.

In conclusion
Reasonable value place to stay if you want to be centrally located and don't need wifi. The fact that there's a Haighs store at the bottom means I'll come back!

Room Tip: Road noise and the sounds of the trams at night can be minimised by staying higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexDWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear LexDWeb,

Thank you very much for your lengthy review of the hotel, its services & most importantly Haighs Choclates.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. I will be sure to passon your feedback regarding the poor TV signal & the power points situation to our Maintenance Manager to be looked at.

We love reading positive reviews, especially ones from Senior Contributor, such as yourself.

Once again thank you & we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future - whenever it's time to stock-up on Haighs Chocolates :-)

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed five nights at this hotel both for business and pleasure. The location was excellent, right in the heart of the city. The staff at the reception was able to link my two bookings together, which allowed me to stay in the same room. The room is very spacious and the toiletries were lovely. A microwave oven and toaster is also available in the room. Windows can also be opened to allow some fresh air in.

However, the room does look a little dated with signs of wear and tear. There is also this damp/musty smell at the foyer.

As a platinum Accor Le Club member, none of the benefits were offered. I had to ask for a late check-out and internet access (the speed wasn't great). There was no welcome drink or platinum member recognition.

I highly recommend this hotel for it's location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Kai K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your recent stay. It's greatly appreciated.

We are pleased that you enjoy most aspects of your stay with us.

I have personally addressed your valid feedback to our Front Office Team to ensure that the benefits of guests' meberships are fully recognized & extended.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing