We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$137
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$290
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$230
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,665)
Filter reviews
2,665 results
Traveler rating
705
1,231
532
124
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
1,231
532
124
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cocoongreat locationsoul cafetwo double bedsdavid jonescentral locationbourke st mallaccor memberthe heart of the citya bit tiredvalet parkingbuffet breakfastyour doorsteproom was spacioustram stopstreet noisean upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,272 - 1,277 of 2,665 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very centrally located hotel in the heart of Melbourne nearby to shopping and Chinatown. Easy access to public transport and with plenty of restaurants nearby. A great hotel to stay when visiting Melbourne, either on business or holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RickyKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Ricky,

We appreciate your feedback and I am thrilled to hear that you found our location to be a very convenient base for your visit (both business or leisure). Thank you again & hopefully we'll see you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good value for money in an excellent location - could not be more central, and with a tram stop outside the door easy to get around Melbourne. Excellent base. Large room, housekeeping very accommodating when we requested anything. Very busy with a lot of people checking in and out every day of our stay, but checkin and the concierge kept things moving. Decore perhaps a little dated and carpets etc looking a little bit the worse for wear, but overall good for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Inger,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to learn that we met your general expectations & looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel at the start of our stay and found the location to be great for shopping and restaurants. The positive reviews here on Tripadvisor had us optimistic about our stay. The location has it's downsides- On the Friday night as we were kept awake from 12:30am to 4:00am by drunken singing in a place we assume was nearby. On the 12th floor this was not expected, however the walls appear to be fairly thin. We requested a room change for the Saturday night, but cancelled the rest of our reservation instead as the hotel was unable to offer us another room. This hotel would be great for a weeknight stay, but not recommended for those who want sleep on a weekend. Room and bathroom were clean and the price would be great if sleep w

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbanetravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear BrisbaneTravel86,

Thank you for reviewing us. I am saddened to hear that we were unable to find you an alternative room during the busy weekend. Please do not hesitate to contact myself on H3028-GM02@accor.com if I can be of any further assistance, should you wish to try us again in the future.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews