We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #84 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our second stay, this time in one of the suites. Although we were on a high floor we could easily hear the noise from the street and the air conditioning from the building next door. Understand the cost but double glazing would fix this. Otherwise a good stay, old hotel but comfy rooms and OK for the cost. The bar and tapas were great, buffet breakfast ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    1,096
    463
    108
    54
See reviews for
610
762
232
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Weipa, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location was perfect for our needs we did lots of walking.a few small things such as plumbing in bathroom needs attention, privacy and make up my room door signs should be a different colour making easy recognition for guests and staff . Beds were very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jlo5Weipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Got a great 2 night deal on-line through their website. We arrived just after 10am with the intention of leaving our bags to explore the city. The Concierge suggested we check with reception if our room was ready. I was very very sceptical & to my great surprise our room was ready. Check-in was super speedy & very very friendly. Welcoming smile very much appreciated.

When I booked the room I requested a higher floor as the kids love to look at the city lights. We were not disappointed. We were given room 1306...great views over the city & down to the trams on Swanston & Bourke Street.

Room had 2 Queen beds & it was still spacious enough for the kids to play on the floor with their toys. Extra pillows in the wardrobe would have been helpful but we managed. Sheets were crisp & fresh. Carpets looked newish. Bed was a little soft for me but no one woke with sore backs.

Bathroom was very clean. Bonus was having a bath for the kids. Lots of hot water & good pressure.

I do agree with others comments of the walls being very thin. On the first night the room next door had a crying child. Poor little one was still crying at 11pm. I felt sorry for the parents rather than being annoyed.

We didn't eat at any of the hotel options. Loved having Haigh's chocolate at the front door. Great for picking up a late night parents treat after a big day out.

Check out was super super quick. No waiting.

I would have to say that the staff here are THE best I've ever encountered. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. Always taking the time to chat with the kids which they loved. This will be our place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerging_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

stayed there from 31 may 2013 to 4 june 2013.

pros
1.good location
2.good location
3.good location
4.housekeeping prompt.
5.acceptable room condition. but can improve further in terms of decors.

cons
1.luggage was left unattended in the middle of reception area when at time of leaving the bags after check in there, we were informed that it would be sent to our room as had to rush to return car rental. but to be fair the porter in attendance during check out which was at 6.30am on 4th june 2013 was very helpful.
2.lucky returned car rental as parking a no no (and NO need for it anyway).
3.was really a hassle to find the entrance when driving to hotel for check in purpose as the hotel entrance was through a back alley as no driving was permitted via main entrance as this was a tram route area (no indication that the small alley concern was the correct area for drop off/ hotel valet service). did contact hotel prior to arrival but they should have been more detailed in explaining in what to expect when driving there.

Room Tip: no cars necessary as it would be an inconvenience. public transport no problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We always stay at this hotel in Melbourne every time we come, great location, great service, nice rooms and yummy breakfast. We have stayed here for many years since we have been to Melbourne - always a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mink13886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and both times wer last moment decisions an as a hotel worker i am happy to say that this is the place to be. quick easy check-in. friendly service an for the price rooms wer compfy an very clean. had a problem with the lights an key card 1st stay but problem solved just like that. if only the hotels i have worked in the past wer as good as this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlos_boi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in an executive suite for four nights with our four year old who had a rollaway bed.. We were thrilled with the location, couldn't have been better. The service was good and they were very happy to move us when we complained about someone smoking in the room opposite. Rooms were cleaned well too. Can't wait to stay again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maslinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#86 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing