We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and strategically located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #83 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Clean and strategically located”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is clean. And it is near to restaurants, shopping places, and the train station. Hotel staffs are very helpful. I arrived very early to hotel (4am). And they allowed me to check-in early once my room was available - at 7am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank suremax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    1,158
    497
    113
    62
See reviews for
647
826
242
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is located very conveniently In Swanston Street.
The customer service was excellent and very helpful and went the extra mile.
THe room was large and very comfortable and the Concoon Bar was great.

Will stay there again on our next trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 161traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was pleased to find that our room is big with two twin beds and each seems like a super single (can probably fit in two people nicely). The beds are very comfy and well equipped with many pillows. The only con is that after cleaning, the cleaning lady usually misplace my pillows and puts them all on my friend's bed instead. Guess it was just a slip of her mind. :)
Service at the front desk was great throughout the stay. The only time that we experienced service that was slightly below standard was during check-in when the staff was probably overwhelmed.
Location is pretty good, surrounded with a number of eateries. Parking in the hotel can be abit troublesome as not all roads are through-roads to the back of the hotel where valet parking is.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends who are going Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cowlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The location is excellent by being in the centre of the CBD. The breakfasts were good value and the dinner at night was the same. We will definately recommend this hotel to our family and friends and the next time we come to Melbourne we hope to be able to stay again. The Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Fremar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location but the place feels a little tired. Our King suite had a bedroom that was only just large enough for the bed and felt cramped with an odd shaped larger lounge area. Service was OK especially concierge but passwords for internet were not given and I had to chase them up despite having it as part of the room fee and front desk staff were a bit lost on both our arrival an departure. Breakfast was just average. Much better breakfasts can be had for the same price. Rooms price was only average value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Regionaltraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of the CBD, next to great Chinatown restaurants, central and flinders st train stations. Also close to shops and loads of entertainment venues
The room is well equipped with nice toiletries, extras like hot chocolate, a DVD player and microwave. It has an indoor pool and small gym.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked a executive room 6 nights. The location is great, comer of Bourke street mall and Swanson street, across from China Town. Downside it was noisy, you could hear people on the streets all night. Room has separate bed, lounge and bathroom, 2 TV's. all average, carpet was stained. Nothing outstanding in service, we didn't really have anything to do with concierge and front desk so can't really comment. Overall I would have been disappointed if we paid full price but as we got room on sale it was ok. Next time I would try the Mantra on Russell, looks OK from outside and good location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sueMSeanDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
4,191 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
733 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing