We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanston Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was pleased to find that our room is big with two twin beds and each seems like a super single (can probably fit in two people nicely). The beds are very comfy and well equipped with many pillows. The only con is that after cleaning, the cleaning lady usually misplace my pillows and puts them all on my friend's bed instead. Guess it was just a slip of her mind. :)
Service at the front desk was great throughout the stay. The only time that we experienced service that was slightly below standard was during check-in when the staff was probably overwhelmed.
Location is pretty good, surrounded with a number of eateries. Parking in the hotel can be abit troublesome as not all roads are through-roads to the back of the hotel where valet parking is.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends who are going Melbourne.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Cowlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying at your hotel. The location is excellent by being in the centre of the CBD. The breakfasts were good value and the dinner at night was the same. We will definately recommend this hotel to our family and friends and the next time we come to Melbourne we hope to be able to stay again. The Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Fremar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location but the place feels a little tired. Our King suite had a bedroom that was only just large enough for the bed and felt cramped with an odd shaped larger lounge area. Service was OK especially concierge but passwords for internet were not given and I had to chase them up despite having it as part of the room fee and front desk staff were a bit lost on both our arrival an departure. Breakfast was just average. Much better breakfasts can be had for the same price. Rooms price was only average value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Regionaltraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of the CBD, next to great Chinatown restaurants, central and flinders st train stations. Also close to shops and loads of entertainment venues
The room is well equipped with nice toiletries, extras like hot chocolate, a DVD player and microwave. It has an indoor pool and small gym.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked a executive room 6 nights. The location is great, comer of Bourke street mall and Swanson street, across from China Town. Downside it was noisy, you could hear people on the streets all night. Room has separate bed, lounge and bathroom, 2 TV's. all average, carpet was stained. Nothing outstanding in service, we didn't really have anything to do with concierge and front desk so can't really comment. Overall I would have been disappointed if we paid full price but as we got room on sale it was ok. Next time I would try the Mantra on Russell, looks OK from outside and good location

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sueMSeanDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A great place to stay, but impossible to get to by car! We ended up returning our hire car to Franklin Street and getting a taxi to the hotel, as we couldn't get close due to one way systems and trams. We also had trouble getting a taxi to Southern Cross Station when we left early in the morning, and ended up getting a ride on the Skybus after conflicting advice from three different hotel staff. Apart from that, the hotel was great and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank FriendlyAlpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed with my Mum for Mothers Day and it was the perfect location. As my Mum has a few mobility issues the location was perfect spot for CBD shopping with a tram right at the front door, giving us easy access to all the places we wanted to visit. Our twin room consisted of 2 double beds in a very large room which meant we shared a room without being on top of each other.

As there were only rooms left with showers over a bath at the time I booked, I requested a bath with grab rails and nothing was a problem.

The reception staff were professional but very friendly.

This is the perfect Central Hotel!!!!

Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 162 in Melbourne
4,261 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 162 in Melbourne
847 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $113 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing