We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good spot”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great shopping location, we needed to be right in the heart of it all so this was the perfect location. Our room was very nice and it was comfortable. The staff were very friendly & helpful although we did have to line up on all occasions as they were very busy. The elevators were tricky, you have to make sure you get the right one as we discovered there are 2 & we couldn't find our room on our first attempt. Food was great & good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cvlightblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    1,151
    491
    110
    61
See reviews for
639
816
241
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was close to everything and the price wasn't bad for such a central location. Not much in the way of ambience in the lobby, halls or rooms. Definitely time for a facelift. I really didn't like the bathroom arrangement which opened right up to the bed. Otherwise acceptable for the price. Hot water electric pot and assorted tea, instant coffee and hot chocolate in the room. Fridge, flat screen, some movies available to rent. Check out late--11 AM. Not too noisy for being in the city. I can't say I'd want to stay more than the five nights we were there but serviceable if your expectations aren't too high and you want to be able to walk to all the shops, restaurants and sights that Melbourne has to offer.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise, book the 7th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sintita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Swanston shares it's lobby with it's 3 1/2 star partner in a big L-shape, which means you are always waiting in line for questions, check-in or check-out. Dirty carpets in front lobby, elevators and hallways. There is a bell stand, but the one or two guys that stand there (sometimes) just look at you while you struggle in with your bags or are checked in. There are ALWAYS maid carts, vacuums and trollies in the hallways too. DO NOT stay anywhere under the 10th floor or you won't be able to sleep. The windows are paper-thin single glazed, and the trollies run until midnight and the garbage trucks start up before 5am. I never got a smile out of anyone in the place, except for the housekeepers, who always seemed to be leaning against their carts and eating. The breakfast buffet, which was included in my stay, is also shared between the two hotels, so it is definitely NOT 4 1/2 star quality. It barely makes it to 3 star. There canned fruit and yogurt, tinned beans, bacon, sold-cooked scrambled eggs, deep fried potato wedges and tomatoes. But every day something disappeared. First it was the sausage links, then it was the beans, then it was the mushrooms. Ridiculous. The rooms are the most basic motel-type, even in the "suite." Fake, plastic laminate marble countertops in the bathroom (really!), plastic tub, and dirty grout ceramic tiles on the floor and walls. The room is furnished completely in chipboard laminate junk you can buy at Ikea. The beds are very firm and the pillows are solid foam-filled and hard as rocks. Unless you get a fantastic bargain, DO NOT STAY HERE. There are plenty of other hotels all around the city, and Melbourne has a very small central city,

Room Tip: DO NOT get below the 10th floor or you will not sleep. The windows are single glazed and about as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushi90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEELONG AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in a suite on 13th floor with my wife and an extra bed for my son. Very good size room with a separate bedroom and free wifi included. Painless check in and check out process and quick return of my car from valet parking. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the centre of Melbourne CBD. Trams are on the doorstep and Chinatown is only 100 metre walk.
I found the room quiet and had no trouble sleeping but if you concentrated you could hear trams, garbage trucks etc in the background so if you are a light sleeper (like my wife is) you might have a few problems. That is the price you pay for the location. Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel away from Trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOTIGES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal in an Accor Advantage Plus (hotel chain club membership) sale but even though the rooms are graded 4-star but I really feel they were way too basic and should be graded 3.5 star. The hotel is in a great central position but really should have double glazing to windows to combat the noise. Had difficulty sleeping the first night and resorted to using lolly snakes as earplugs (very effective albeit sticky but we were desperate..) due to inner city noise - trucks backing with reverse alarms, street shenanigans, construction noise from next door etc. We asked for a quiet room and we were given room 701. It was situated back from the main road but was still too noisy for restful sleep. We had a twin queen room. An extra mirror above the power point on the luggage rack would have been useful to save time in the morning, but the room was functional and bed linen modern and very clean. Great shower and consistent hot water. Beds were very firm and pillows were pretty flat and no extras in the room. Air conditioner was very noisy and stopped and started all night but once we knew what the noise was we were ok with it. Good value basic, buffet breakfast available but plenty of cafes nearby. About 3 minute walk to Bourke St Mall. Close to everything. Great wine bar, Cabinet Bar & Balcony, across the road with a nice relaxed and chilled atmosphere. Overall, if you got your room on sale for a bargain price, you wouldn't be be too disappointed, but if you paid regular prices you probably would feel otherwise. Basic hotel accommodation in a great position in the city of Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We got the Executive Suite Room 411 for 1/2 price - $130 a night - for two nights (Fri/Sat). Epic deal! I must say, this location is fantastic. Right in the hustle and bustle of Swanston St - we loved it. The suite was nice - the main room is a medium sized lounge room with an office desk and nice chair plus a small circular dining table, two dining chairs, small but comfortable couch and under the TV was a tiny microwave, kettle and toaster. The TV was about 34" or so, could be a little bigger for the size of the room. Also had a DVD player. The bedroom was nice with a king bed - a firm bed with no pillow top - but good quality none the less. No fitted sheet or electric blanket was a let down. Also, the size of the TV in here was only about 22" - tiny by today's size. The bathroom was nice - but a rather small bath. Decent products and excellent water pressure. Overall, great for the price we paid - but I wouldn't want to pay full price for this room! The view was poor to average. Only on the 4th floor though. The only bad experience we had was breakfast on Sunday morning in the cafe. My partners poached eggs were not cooked and our bacon was overcooked and not cooked to order. They replaced our meals, but failed to offer a free coffee/tea. When it came again, it was underwhelming and overpriced. Dry bacon and average eggs. Avoid their food!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to improve the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealandntral, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent Hotel right in the heart of the CBD. Has a swimming pool for the kids on the top floor and a gym. Do like I did and went shopping and you are so close you can take your parcels up to your room to save lugging them around and go and shop for some more. Tram right outside the hotel. Walking distance also to Federation Square and the train station. Rooms were fresh and in good condition. The only negative would have been it was a little noisey at night. May have just been the nights we were there though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BlondePatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing