We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a week in Melbourne” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Glenelg, Australia
1 review
“a week in Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is situtated right in the heart of melbourne CBD. Everything is within reach: shopping, food, trams, more shopping.......
it was a great stay considering price and location and service by staff.
staff in reception were very accomodating, everything was explained and tried their best to help.
the cleaning staff are just amazing. they go out of their way to service my room everyday.
thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank StarOfTheSea24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    1,094
    463
    108
    53
See reviews for
609
762
232
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic inner city location, perfect for dumping shopping bags mid shop! Also walking distance to fabulous cafes and restaurants. My room had a comfortable bed and and adequate bathroom, although would have liked a bit of bench space for toilet bag near the basin. Even though the aircon worked well I found the room stuffy, but I come from the country and like having a window that opens....the doona was too hot unless I turned the aircon temp right down (which, with individual controls, was an option) Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuinmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff were helpful when I needed to fix things but would have neem good to not have to.The dressing gown and slippers were missing and the DVD library they advertise does not exist.

Noisy neighbours made for bad sleep.
great location.
comfortable room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank anniefmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are a family of four recently stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel room is very big with two double beds (big enough), also comes with a baby bed although we don't need it. The room is very big. The location is even better, close to everything. I also found the hotel website very useful for my trip for all the sightseeing. We are all very happy with the hotel. The only downside was that the hotel pool was too small, maybe because it's in the middle of the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ellen852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for shopping if you are staying in Melbourne with Bourke Street Mall just around the corner, very close to Melbourne Central and a short walk to Southbank and the Vic Market. The staff were very obliging and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Only downside was that our room overlooked Swanston St and you could hear people in the street and trams late in the night and then was woken up by more street noise in the morning. After checking out we were charged for items that we didn't usae in the mini bar but a quick call to the hotel and they assured me that they will refund those charges. All in all we had a great time at this hotel and even with the street noise we would still stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent two nights at the Swanston and I was worried on check in as I had stayed in the Mecure which is attached to the Swanston and hated the Mecure's small rooms, the lack of soundproofing and dingy hallways, but was I was very pleasently surprised with the Swanston, My room was next to the elevator... but the soundproof design ensured that there was no sound to be heard. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed, there was even a second door to the bedroom which you could shut and keep even more noise out. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynorclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Like everyone else the location was great. Our room was on the third floor 2 double beds. The room was large and comfortable. The beds were great not to hard and if you have read my other reviews I'm very particular about pillows and the pillows here were great to sleep on. The bathroom was a good size, it was a bath shower which was ok I just worry about slipping as it didn't have any non slip in the bath. I did find that there wasn't much room around the hand basin for toilet bags, toothbrushes etc. At night the air con would rattle off and on but was not to annoying. The first morning we were there I heard a large thud and couldn't work out what it was the next day my daughter said did you know the gym was next door. No I didn't but that was the thud just a suggestion maybe some sound proofing would do well. I only wish that hotels advise when checking in if you are going to be near anything like that and that includes lifts so you have the option to move rooms.
Overall I found the staff helpful and friendly and would recommend to stay if you want close to Burke Street Mall and the CBD you can walk everywhere from this hotel.
We didn't eat at the hotel as you had many options close by.

Room Tip: don't get room 306 as it is right next to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balihi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#86 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing