We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, however a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #82 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good location, however a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Better can be found in Melbourne for the money. Decor and rooms look circa 15 years old, past time for a make-over. Bathroom was 2-3 star with the added benefit of a chair in the shower! - just in case I was in a wheelchair or 80 yrs old - both of which I'm not. Average and reliable if you can't be bothered looking for better, however certainly not the "upscale apartment" their website describes it as, I expected a little more from a Grand Mecure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    1,043
    450
    99
    50
See reviews for
583
740
220
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

How more central can you get? Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great for business travellers. Power points everywhere. Desk, good lighting. Bed comfortable. Restaurants and bars are ok but could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank P0werfulPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a really good hotel right in the heart of Melbourne. It is great as you can walk to so many areas of interest. Great shopping, museum, art gallery, lovely food and best of all, lots of theatres are in walking distance. The rooms are a generous size and I love the twin doubles. One of the best features is that the rooms have DVD players, microwave and toaster as well as fridge. Friendly staff and excellent room service. We ordered dinner three times in our room on our recent stay, and each time the food was generous, good quality and delivered in a good time frame.

The bathrooms are looking just a little worn now, with some age stain marks on the ceilings, but the cleanliness is fine. I still think that this is a very good value hotel considering it is in the heart of the city. If you can get a good rate, I certainly would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle heights
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not sure if "Grand" should still be in the title for this hotel as Grand is not a description I would use. Our room, a superior King Size, was a good size with a very small bath room, but was very basic. No mini bar, furniture that would be good at a back packers hotel, and really quite noisy from surrounding rooms and people in the corridor. In saying that though, the room was comfortable and clean. The staff were excellent, curtious, helpful, and friendly. ( I might suggest that porters and Valet parking staff, or any one else coming into your room or car be issued with deodorant) Breakfast was adequate and check out and check in very efficient and speedy. Location is ideal if you are visiting Melb as it is centrally located, close to Chinatown and trams. Good value for money though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biasca93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to get this hotel on a 40% off deal. A friend and I caught up with our two 8 yo daughters. They had a ball in the pool, and the location meant we could go on mini shopping trips in the day (and Chinatown meals at night) without being too far from their Monster High games in the room! Clean with great service. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank danielat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having stayed at the Swanston Hotel a few times , I find its location so central to the main food and shopping areas of Melbourne, its comfortable, quiet and the staff are extremely helpful!! For a quiet drink or a special breakfast the Cocoon Bar is the spot to go to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank essend0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepparton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every time I stay at 'The Swanston Mercure" Melbourne I feel like it's my home away from home. I love the comfort of my favourite room - 1206 - the staff who book us in and everyone we come in contact with are always so friendly and nothing is too much for them.....YAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank thefairy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,772 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#98 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing