We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Swanston St Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Room was clean and spacious. The food and service in the dining room was great value for money. The only downside was the noise from the crowd in Swanston St early of a Saturday morning. In future I would request a room which didn't face Swanston St if I was staying for a weekend at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kelpie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,382 - 1,388 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Swanston last August/September.
We had a great stay - hotel was clean, decent sized room and in an awesome location - We walked everywhere in the city and to the MCG. Inside the room was quiet and couldn't hear any street noise.
Check in and check out was easy.
Didn't have any problems and would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiralee_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights early January 2013. The stay was pleasant. Although it's quite old, but the room was nice & clean. Great value for the breakfast, kids ate free, though it's only standard buffet breakfast.

Being located in the heart of CBD area, it's convenient enough to find foods from surroundings. It's a plus value.

The only downsides for us were: 1) parking. The streets were busy & very narrow. We didn't expect this things and we drove a 12 seaters car. 2) The swimming pool though indoor, but the glass (or other transparent material?) roof makes the swimming pool area super hot, especially when we were there during summer & unlucky enough to taste 42 degree Celcius on that day.

Overall, it's still a pleasant stay for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra_8th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed here before. Love the location, you just step out the front door and can catch a tram or around the corner to Bourke St Mall.

I appreciate the microwave and toaster in the room so that if you just want a light breakfast or snack you can make it yourself and save your appetite for diner in any of the fabulous restaurants in Melbourne.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful on check in and check out both reception and concierge staff.

I will certainly stay here again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiloelaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I found the people at the hotel very accommodating and the room was a great size and condition. If anything went wrong, which very little did, it was fixed promptly. Meals were good and location was very convenient for trams and eating establishments. We were staying over a very busy weekend but the staff still found the time to help us in any way they could. A job very well done and would stay again at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank plockerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

For the location and the price it's hard to beat this place . I would stay there if your looking to explore central Melbourne . Great food and bars close by. The tram is out the front . Hard to beat it's location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street - more noise but better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

First off the staff both at Valet and Check in was excellent, very friendlyand helpful. We arrived late at night and booked a standard room, was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an excutive suite. All I can say is that I was glad we did not pay for this type of room, would have been rather disappointed if I had. The room is nice and spacious but the room we were given was on the Swanston road side which was very noicey. The cleaning service of the room as not very good either, the bath was not cleaned and the carpets were not vacumed. There service at breakfast in the Louden was not good either, had to ask 3 times for a table to be wiped after they cleared the dishes so we could sit there. Eventually wiped it ourselves so we could at least get a seat. The wait staff did not even bother to remove our used plates after we eaten they allowed them to build up until we left.

Room Tip: Not on the Swanston Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnzymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 162 in Melbourne
4,266 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#100 of 162 in Melbourne
855 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $112 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing