We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We found it had all we required right at our doorstep. It is a great place to stay when we have the children with us and is also good when we are without the kids.The Cocoon bar was great for a light meal and a few quiet drinks and we also enjoyed breakfast there. I would recommend this to our friends as we found it to be family friendly. We love it and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank grease557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

great location, service very much average, reception was under-manned, but overall it was good given the location and the price.

Next time though, I will pick somewhere else, nothing to make it stand out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BTNMoama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was booked primarily for its location to city centre & easy access to main departmental stores.Although this hotel has 4 1/2 star rating I think that it was perhaps over rated but to be honest there was little to complain about. We had a very spacious room with x2 double beds, very clean, & quiet
The only gripe that I have is that the hotel in general is grubby (lobby) in need of a big refurbishment, colours dark & drab.
However it suited us as we only used the room to sleep & we were in the hub of all the activity
We did not use any facilities at the hotel as there were lots of restaurants to go to all in walking distance

Room Tip: Although I stipulated a room without airconditioning units I was still allocated with a room with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blanc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Room nice and clean , hotel staff very friendly and knowledgeable about area
will look after luggage for you when you check out
Did not eat at hotel , lots of food choices outside of hotel

Not keen on melbourne as a place , but would stay at this hotel elsewhere

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakapplegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Room was ready at 9.30am which was a huge bonus, Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our bathroom ceiling started leaking during the night and we were very quickly allocated another room. The louden restaurant was very noisy, not a great choice for a buffet brecky. Staff more interested in cleaning up and making lots of noise with dishes. Go to the little restaurant next door called the Crown Cafe.
Overall it was great. will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Diana6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great place to stay for a hassle free trip. Would suggest using the valet parking as self parking is off site. Cocoon bar is great and you can set your own happy hour for cut price drinks. Staff were more than willing to help. Hotel is dated but facilities are clean and comfortable (& sound proof). Pool has a great view but is not deep or really suitable for any decent exercise - minor problem. Would stay again without a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLyonsPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The welcome by the hotel staff was excellent. Explanations to choices of restaurants, parking etc was most appreciated. The valet parking was superb and the guys did a great job. The rooms were clean, comfortable and we enjoyed our accommodation. The breakfast was a very high standard which we enjoyed.
Our check out was the only disappointment. The staff member was extremely short tempered, grumpy with no intention of engagement with a customer. Overall a 9/10

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 161 in Melbourne
4,340 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#86 of 161 in Melbourne
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $116 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing