We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for a night while catching up with friends. Our rooms were directly opposite the lifts, all other hotel experiences of rooms so close to lifts is noisy, hearing every time the doors open, people waiting ect. This was not the case and we didn’t hear a thing. Our rooms were next door to our friends which was handy and that doesn’t always happen. The rooms were big, bed comfy, amenities good, room/bathroom clean. Bar, luggage room, valet, reception staff were great really friendly and great service. And location is perfect! We would defiantly stay again. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLouBak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Conveniently positioned right between the CBA ATM's and the Haighs Chocolate Shop - very handy. :) We caught the train to Melbourne as we were going to the Aust Open the next day. Easy access to trams etc. We just caught a Burke Street tram which dropped us off near Swanston Street. Staff were helpful and we appreciated them holding our luggage the day we left so we could shop before catching the train home. The room was spacious and clean and we had two comfy double beds which accommodated my daughter and myself. We slept soundly with no noise which I had expected being right near Burke Street.The milk supplied were just two little "sachets" which is hardly enough for one cup so I left them a note kindly asking for more the next day, and we were promptly given ample. We paid $15 each for the buffet breakfast at The Louden at the bottom of the building and we were more than happy with it. I had read several negative comments about the breakfast but we thought it was great and I would certainly eat there again. The street outside is a very busy one and Im not sure how I would cope if I had to drive here as part of Swanston Street is closed to traffic except trams but I did see they have valet parking on the side road. Its only a few blocks and walking distance from Melbourne Central (from everything actually!) so we went there one night for Nandos and the Cinema. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the south side of the building (looking towards Burke Street) and we didnt notice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Only fault was the noise from late night shoppers even though we were on 10th floor. Rooms spacious and clean. Location was excellent within walking distances to melbournes main attractions and if you don't want to walk the Trams were on the door step.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiger1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is right in the center of the city. It is accessible by tram and within walking distance to everything to see in Melbourne's City Center. It is clean, modern and comfortable. My weekend rate was $350 for two nights including the tax on a pre-pay. You do need to be careful of the extra's for internet ($10/day, not a problem though if you public wi-fi from a coffee shop), and breakfast ($16/day for the buffett, but not a problem if you like to have breakfast out). This is a particularily a great find if you like shopping in the small shops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 116TedB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location in Melbourne's CBD -- next to Chinatown and if you're in Melbourne during the Australia Open tennis, it's an easy, scenic walk along the river to the tennis centre. Also just a short walk to Federation Square and Flinders Street Station.

Rooms are a good size, with comfortable beds. Breakfast is a bit pricey since they only provide a full buffet option (we just wanted juice & cereal, but they don't offer an a la carte menu)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stay at this hotel to be on the doorstep of Chinatown and heaps of well-priced eating spots and coffee houses just up Little Bourke Street. Booked through Accor AdvantagePlus website, value for location, big, clean room with comfortable bed. The breakfast is passable, the Cocoon Lounge is pleasant for a refreshing drink and their happy hour concept is clever to enjoy a discount on drinks and bar food. Our room 1103 was situated well back from streets so quiet and had good view over central city. This hotel is well-worth considering if you want short-stay in centre of city to soak up its many attractions.

Room Tip: Room 1103 is set well back from streets, so is quiet and offers nice view of city and night lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookingnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is the fourth time I have used this venue in Melbourne and the staff are consistently well trained and extremely helpful - they go out of their way. This also extends to the little coffee shop. Really comfortable rooms and cost effective. I have not experienced a bad meal in their restaurant and would recommend this to anyone. The location is brilliant for shopping and getting around

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriss1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 161 in Melbourne
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $108 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing