We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Service, Dated Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #82 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    1,096
    463
    108
    54
See reviews for
610
762
232
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is in a great location to shops, trams and trains.
Front desk service could have been slightly better.
Cocoon bar could have been open longer than 8.30pm on a Saturday night.
Gym was well equipped and pool was lovely and clean.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Norfolk, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

After reading other reviews I was concerned that this hotel would be too noisy and not fun to stay in for two whole weeks! I am here for a work training course and my employer booked the hotel. I decided to call the hotel in advance and ask for a room on a higher floor and away from the lifts to be sure to be as quite as possible. The staff on the phone were pleasant and very helpful and my request was "no problem". When I arrived I was very pleased to be in 1309 (a corner room with separate king bedroom). The bed is very comfortable and all amenities are excellent. Shampoo etc provided as well as robes, microwave, bar fridge, kettle and toaster. The room service service has been very friendly and prompt. Food normal for room service but not a lot of healthy choices. I have eaten in both the Louden Rest and Cocoon Bar and found both excellent for service and food. 'Bab' in the Louden was very friendly and remembered me from delivering me room service previously. He was obviously very happy at his job and was happy to tell me he had recently had a promotion and that his girlfriend was also participating in the Accor training program. Great promo for the hotel group. All in all my stay has been great so far and have been very happy to be here. Thanks

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floor as this is in a central location (great for shopping) but buskers can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location was perfect but the hotel was not. Public areas were very unattractive and in need of renovation. Concierge staff and reception were good and helpful. The bar was not too nice and the staff were surly and unwelcoming. Breakfast room was like a motorway service area although breakfast was quite good. Our room, a standard double had 2 kingsize beds but not much else and was in need of furnishing and decoration. One small window meant very limited natural light. I would rate as 2 to 3 stars only.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay on Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kediri, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

the hotel room is quite big
the location is perfect. it is in the centre of the city
the staffs are helpful
definitely considering to come back in the future
there are some good restaurants in the hotel and chocolate shops downstairs

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Central location, ideal for sightseeing and shopping. Room decor a little drab and generally well worn.
$15 buffet breakfast good value with plenty of choice.
Wifi and business office use expensive when a short walk to a local cafe and the wifi is free!
Not impressed with the lack of portering service. Struggling with 2 suitcases and 3 lots of hand luggage and not even the offer to hold the lift doors open!
Taxi rank right outside but it felt like a mile when dragging my luggage (work related) as of course
there is no offer of help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything you would expect from a motel in the heart of the CBD. Fantastic location to hop on a tram or go for a walk around Melbourne. Take away food and cafes at your doorstep. No need for a hire car! Staff were fantastic, 10/10, very professional. The room was neat & clean, unfortunately only a view of the next building, but this is to be expected in the CBD. I would stay there again based on it's location, HOWEVER, did find the room very claustrophobic due to the lack of a balcony or opening windows.., luckily we were out a lot during our stay.
TIP: We travelled as a family and would recommend to tourists whilst visiting...., be sure to go the the Museum (check out Phar Lap), Old Melbourne Gaol (see Ned Kelly's face mask), go on the "Neighbours Tour" (check out Ramsay St) and Melbourne Zoo (for an open air adventure tour) where the animals come right up to you! We also enjoyed the nearby markets and a horse & carriage ride at night. Have a great trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMACSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#85 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing