We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Ranked #85 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good city centre location, nice hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2008

The Grand Mercure is situated on Swanston Street, in one of the main shopping streets in Melbourne. In spite of its central location it was a very peaceful place to stay. The room was very spacious (2 double beds for a twin room), as was the bathroom. All very clean, furnished in a modern style and very comfortable. Breakfast buffet each morning had a good selection of cooked and continental options. I was less impressed with the breakfast I had on room service one morning, my toast hadn't been toasted and the pastries were tiny - didn't seem like great value for money.
The concierge was extremely helpful, we booked car hire through the hotel and tours. The pick up point for some of the coach tours is right across the road which again is very convenient.
Overall I was very impressed with the hotel and felt it gave great value for the price I paid.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jules99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erdigroup, Hotel Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this review, January 29, 2008
Dear Jules99,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, we are pleased to see it was enjoyable.

I am sorry to hear your room service breakfast was not to your liking. In an effort to cater to all personal tastes, each room features a toaster so guests are able to prepare their toast fresh and to their preference. I apologise that this was not explained to you upon delivery of your breakfast.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Craig Bradbery

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    1,163
    500
    113
    63
See reviews for
651
829
242
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

Booked through Qantas and we recieved a free upgrade to an executive room, it was amazing, the hotel was soooo clean and posh, we were waited on all throughout our stay. The pool looked out over the city as did the restaurant. Fantastic location, close to everything you could need in Melbourne. The concierge was very helpful and we booked numerous tours with him. The view was a city view but rather spectacular at night.
Be aware you are right on China towns doorstep so Chinese was the main dish of every restuarant.

  • Liked — The spacious rooms and great staff
  • Disliked — The entrances were quite decieving
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dawn_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2007

We stayed three nights in this hotel while on a Globus tour. This hotel is in a fabulous location in the heart of the city. You can pretty much walk to anything in the city in 15 minutes or less (or of course there are the tram cars in Melbourne if you are not into walking). The lobby area is small and decorated with a modern style. However, the rooms are the exact opposite. Our first thought that came to mind when we entered the room was "communist era." It was very drab, it looked worm out, old, and dull, even the towels were old and worn out. The breakfast buffet was average and the pool was small. On the plus side, the room was absolutely huge and the elevators in the hotel are super fast.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel room, this is not the place to stay, but if you are looking for decent hotel room in a great location, then this is the place for you.

  • Liked — location location location! :)
  • Disliked — worn out room
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at the Mercure on Swanston Street for three nights as part of a tour of Australia. The hotel's location is right in the centre of the City with all the sights within walking distance.

The hotel itself is nothing to rave about, very busy in the public areas with only adequate facilities. It seems to cater for large groups of tourists so the staff are always busy. The room was functional with only an average standard of decor. As the hotel is surounded by other tall buildings there was not much of a view from our room.

However, if you're just looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the centre of this bustling city then you can't go wrong with the Mercure as everything you could need is on your doorstep: trams, shops, restaurants etc.

There is a cafe attached to the hotel, (near the pokies) which does a good coffee & muffin at a very reasonable price for brwakfast.

While in Melbourne we went on the trolley card restaurant trip which I can highly recommend and we also had a fantastic steak dinner in Waterfront City.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilehurst Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

This was my complimentary night stay with Accor's Advantage Plus program.
I was sure that we would receive the worst room, because it was a complimentary stay.
Arrived early, and registered at check-in at 9am. Stored the bags, and returned to the hotel just after 1pm. The room was ready, and was formally checked in. We were given room 1016.
Arrived at the floor, and our room was quite close to the lift. The room was quite large, and going by the diagram on the back of the door, it was one of the largest rooms on the floor.
View wasn't anything spectacular, but it didn't really matter.
There was 2 Queen beds in the room, with a wardrobe (which looked out of place), a desk, a sofa, and a lounge chair with a foot stool.
TV was the standard TV with a limited range of Foxtel channels, the same as the Mercure Welcome. The bathroom was nice and large and clean.
Although the room was nice, I don't think I would pay the $160 a night for the room. I'd rather pay the $89 for the Mercure Welcome and put up with the noise.
Was a good stay, considering it was free!!

  • Liked — It didn't cost a cent.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

We chose this hotel because of its location...right on Swanston street nestled with the shops and restaurants. Our room was extremely quiet even though of this prime location. One problem we encountered was a dirty bath that had a tide mark around it not left by us. After requesting housekeeping come to clean it, the cleaner rudely asked us what was wrong with it, and accused us of leaving it dirty! Just like to point out though that we had been out all day/evening and they had 'supposedly' been in to clean it. Anyway, she soon got the message and cleaned it so we could have a nice soak after much shopping forced upon me by my wife!!
Would definately stay here again and we're looking to book it again soon. Food here was very good and beer very cold which is rather important. Can't wait to return for more shopping and sighseeing, and even the taxi fares are not too bad when compared to UK prices. Most of Melbourne's sights/shops within minutes of here via your feet.
Oh, one other thing, we arrived in a car and we could not find the entrance at all to drop our luggage off. You need to access this hotel via small one way street that runs through Chinatown so you can then drop off your luggage before parking in a nearby building reccommended by the hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2006

i stayed there for a week and it has all the necesities such as microwave, toaster, coffe making facilities, excelent location,comfortable room. An ideal hotel for our honeymoon&anniversary&my birthday celebration. It is expensive though AUD 195/night.
The room is large enough althought the bathroom is rather small & also the bathtub somewhat small even for asian lady lke me (172 cm/64kg)

  • Liked — location & amenities & the room itself
  • Disliked — pricey..no window view
  • Tips/Secrets — excelent location in town
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Maharani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 160 in Melbourne
4,204 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#95 of 160 in Melbourne
763 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Property: The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Address: 195 Swanston St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#78 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is a 4.5-star hotel positioned in an unrivalled location in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and city, surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants. With shopping meccas like Bourke Street Mall, Emporium Melbourne and H&M right on your doorstep, other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. In addition, with a tram stop conveniently located at the front entrance - a quick tram ride will take you to all major sporting venues including the MCG and Etihad Stadium plus the city's cosmopolitan shopping and entertainment hotspots such as St Kilda, Chapel Street, Bridge Road and Brunswick Street. The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is Melbourne's most centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing