We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location, good staff - slightly tired hotel”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Good value, good location, good staff - slightly tired hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here twice over the space of a couple of weeks as I returned to Melbourne.

My main reason for staying here a second time was the value for money this hotel represents based on its' location right next to Melbourne city centre on the edge of Chinatown and its facilities which are functional and clean without being spectacular. Clean comfortable rooms with complimentary movies and WiFi. I didn't eat breakfast or anything else in the hotel so can't comment on food quality.

I think this hotel positions itself as a 4 star hotel. I'm not sure that it reaches this standard but, to be fair, neither do its' room rates. In my opinion it's a good 3 star but no more than that

Room Tip: high floor for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear journeyman29,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Crossley. It's great to read you found the hotel to be value for money and in a great central location right in the heart of Chinatown. I will certainly share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    755
    185
    40
    21
See reviews for
354
615
153
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

just spent 3 days at this hotel. Generally good location, within walking distance to many attractions and shopping but room 314 VERY noisy as next to noisy lane. People singing and shouting in early hours of morning followed by bins and bottles being emptied first thing in am. Also this is the floor where there is a smoking area so didn't smell very fresh. Would recommend hotel for convenience but ask for a different room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Aileen M,

Thank you for your review.

It’s fantastic to read you enjoyed the location of the Crossley hotel, close to all the major attractions and great shopping outlets.

I do however apologise that you found your room noisy, for future reference please contact one of our friendly staff and we would be more than happy to allocate a quiet room for you away from the noise and away from the 3rd Floor Smoking Area.

Thank you again for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Even a budget hotel has to be able to do some things right.
We booked one night, that being NYE 2013-2014 and even though the room was spacious I wouldn’t rate it 4 stars. The carpet was dirty; the bathroom needs an update and is small. The toilet seat was dirty, luckily enough I carry anti-bacterial wipes to clean. We had no view and faced a brick wall.
Now for the most disappointing part was the so called “Full Buffet Breakfast” which I paid $24/head.
The variety was like none….any hotel can put up bread, cereal and stale cakes and a jug of milk.
OMG!!!!!! Hang your head in shame Crossely. Having traveled the world a few times, I wouldn’t even rate it 1 star!!!!! Whether it was due to NYE and didn’t have the usual staff, but the waiting staff (and there was only 1) couldn’t understand English. She didn’t even want to look at us. She didn't eve come to clean our table as we finished with our plates. It put us off having another cup of tea!
She couldn’t even clean up our table and the so called espresso coffee was filtered coffee. It was like drinking disgusting dirty water. We weren’t even told where we can help ourselves to tea!
There was one cook and I asked for eggs Florentine and got a muffin cut in half with two spinach leaves and eggs with a bit of hollandaise sauce. All I could taste was oil…..eeewww!
There was five of us with two rooms booked and would never stay AGAIN!
Then to top it off, the staff behind reception (Felix) felt like charging us extra for breakfast and car parking when it was paid beforehand. The Credit Card receipt was still attached to our booking (the hotel held) which I had to point out! Go figure…he still didn’t take our word and he rang the breakfast room to confirm we didn’t have another serving! What is wrong with this guy and his customer service? On top of that they overcharged us breakfast by about $3 and had the nerve to ask us if we wanted to be refunded. Is this guy for real?! I was fuming and bit my tongue.
Absolute waste of money! The only plus was getting out of there and our Valet Parking Staff. He was the only one who deserved to be rated. He was friendly, attentive and well respected! I take my hat off to him.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labella-ragazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Iabella-ragazza,

Thank you for your review.

It's disappointing to read you did not enjoy your stay.

I'm sorry you felt the breakfast was not value for money as we get regular reviews on how great and tasty the breakfast is. Eggs Florentine are usually poached eggs with spinach and hollandaise sauce, sorry this was not what you expected. I will be sure to pass your feedback and comments on to the restaurant team.

I'm disappointed you felt the service of our reception staff was not up to standard. As English is the second language of some our staff, they sometimes like to seek clarification to ensure they have understood the problem and solved it to the best of their ability.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at The Crossley (Little Bourke Street) again recently for a 'holiday' in Melbourne. Still enjoy the location above all else of this outstanding boutique hotel. Great staff. Clean rooms and plenty of supplies to keep us going IF we did not want to leave our rooms. Walked less than 5 minutes to Chinatown for dinner first night - amazing! Walked less than 5 minutes to Bourke Street second night for another amazing Italian feed! Comfortable beds. Quiet location. Everything we want when we visit the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Kevin M,

Thank you for writing a review on the Crossley Hotel.

You’re absolutely right we are an outstanding boutique hotel with great staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds and situated in a great central location.

Thank you for such positive feedback, I will be sure to pass on your comments to all departments.


Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We found the hotel staff friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything needed for a Homely stay. Quiet efficient air conditioning, mini bar, Large TV, internet connection (complementary) and a really comfortable bed. The hotel is close to everything including the theatre. One little picky thing: take your own pillow!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear RobertH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Crossley Hotel.

Our location is the perfect base for theaters, shopping and all that Melbourne has to offer.

It’s great to read you found the accommodation clean, comfortable and everything you needed for a homely stay.

It's also rewarding to read our staff catered to your needs with their friendly and efficient service.

Thank you again for writing a review, we hope to see you in 2014.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location to restaurants & theatres. Not far to walk to main shops in the CBD. Only disappointment is lack of room service during certain times and days. Overall nice staff lovely large room. Even had lounge chair. We would return enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear tanyag,

Thank you for your 5/5 review on the Crossley Hotel.

It’s fantastic to read you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, and it's very rewarding to read you found our staff lovely. I do however apologise about the lack of room service, we are currently undergoing a change over in management in our restaurant and will take your comments on board.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located in a good part of the Melbourne CBD close to restaurants and bars. It is a small place which is part of the charm. My room didn't have much of a view - over a laneway, but it was quite. Everything worked OK but the aircon was a little tempermental. Would stay here again though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazza_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Shazza_away,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Crossley Hotel.

It's wonderful to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you found your room to be quiet, however I do apologise that you had issues with your air conditioner, for future reference please contact one of our friendly staff members to rectify any issues you may have.

We look forward to having you stay at the Crossley Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#78 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing