We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing I could add!!!!!! Perfect”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed there for my wedding, Room very clean and tidy as well as bathroom and on cleanliness I give 100% better than some 5 star hotel. I want to point-out one staff member who look after us named KENNY, his service was really great, a can do attitude and always smiling.
Want to congratulate Paul, catering service, food was really good as well as presentation. Overall Relax atmosphere, definitely will come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, go in all of them, of course if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Christopher S,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm also delighted that you found our hotel to be of higher standard than of some 5 Star Hotels. I will pass on your kind words and feedback to Paul and his team, I'm sure he will be pleased to hear this. I will also pass your comments on to Kenny, I'm glad he was able to offer you exceptional service, with a can do attitude.

Once again Christopher thanks for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a week in this hotel and we loved the location - it is just on the edge of Chinatown and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.
The Staff were friendly and helpful and handled our booking efficiently.
The lobby is small, but the room was large and well appointed. It was very clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Felicity S,

Thank you for your recent review.

It's great to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the location central and easy to walk every where from. I'm also delighted to read how friendly and helpful you found our staff, I will be sure to pass this on to all of the team.

Thanks again for posting a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Large room, clean and well serviced. Good large flat screen tv, with free to air and 4 movie channels. Comfortables bed!!
Also,free wifi a bonus, with reasonable speed. Was close to my work, and not too far too shopping. Also, quiet end of little Bourke street

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Senorhondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Senorhondo,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. It's also great to read that you enjoyed the use of the free wi-fi and found it to be of reasonable speed.

Thanks again for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

As part of a mystery flight deal I had the standard room. Basic as the name would suggest, but appealing and very comfortable with everything I needed, and besides, who wants to hang out in their room when the location is so good? Walking distance to Chinatown and the Greek Precinct, more restaurants and bars than you could try in a month and a minute away from the free City Circle tram line you can use to check out museums, shopping, the Casino etc etc. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are amazingly quiet day and night. Can definitely recommend it and will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear J G,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, nearby to China Town and the Greek Precinct. There certainly is a huge variety of restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. It's also great to read that you found our staff helpful and friendly, I will be sure to pass this on to all of the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughters and I spent a week at Crossley Hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was of a decent size and bathroom was very clean. The free wifi was a big plus. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Jenwong 2003,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I'm pleased you appreciated the use of the free wi-fi.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Crossley on a recent weekend in Melbourne. The location was very handy being near Chinatown and the shops there. Staff were helpful at all times of night. We did not try the restaurant, but instead ate out at the establishments nearby, of which there are a good variety.

The biggest let-down for us was the tired decor, especially in the bathroom. While everything worked, we couldn't help the feeling that we'd stepped 20 years into the past. Another issue was the wireless internet system. While one of our devices was able to connect fine, the other two had issues and were basically unusable.

We had a corner room on the top floor.

If you get a good deal on one of the travel sites, and like a hotel that's not directly in the centre of everything where you can get a decent night's sleep, then the Crossley may suit you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear travelling_smurf,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's location in the heat of china town. It's also great to read that you found our staff helpful at all times.

I'm sorry to read that you found the hotel decor out dated, we appreciate your comments and feedback and will take this on board when planning our continual improvements and refurbishment program. I would also like to apologise for the issues that arose with the Wi-Fi connection in your room, I do hope you contacted reception and they were able to help you rectify the situation.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

While the hotel is fairly basic, it is in a great location next to Chinatown and only 20 mins walk from the CBD. We did not take breakfast or dine at the restaurant connected to the hotel, but chose to have breakfast in the city. There are lots of dining and drinking options nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevd112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Kevd112,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting the central location of the hotel, you are right it is near by to lots of restaurants and other eateries.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 161 in Melbourne
928 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,406 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Superior Rooms. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing