We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good. No complaints”
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Staff were really helpful. No complaints at all about them. They got me into my room despite the fact that I arrived at 7am, which was a big help. Staff were always helpful and friendly whenever I spoke to them.
Location is pretty good. Its not right in the middle of things, but close enough to make it convenient. Chinatown is just outside the front door, and you can walk to places like Swanson St and Federation Sq in about 10 minutes.
Rooms were comfortable enough. What you'd expect from a 4-star hotel. No complaints on that front.
I'd recommend this place. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjss7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear jjss7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel very comfortable. I'm glad you found the staff friendly and helpful and that they were able to assist you with an early check in.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
There are newer reviews for The Crossley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a present surprise; the Crossley Hotel was one of the cheaper hotels available in this location in Melbourne so I wasn’t expecting much but the room was a good size, well laid out and clean.

The staff are helpful and cheerful.

Overall I would say I was very happy and would stay there next time I come to Melbourne

Room Tip: The Malaysian Restaurant across from the hotel is excellent
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyinperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Gary,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you found the staff cheerful and helpful, I was also pleased to read that you found the accommodation well laid out and clean.

Once again Gary, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,
Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very nice Heard dinner excellent, but restaurant closed on Sunday and Monday nights. Had room upgrade, very spacious one bedroom apartment for three people We were on the top floor(6), lovely balcony each end of apartment. Great bathroom with spa bath ,off bedroom downstairs. Upstairs,roomy ensuite off lounge,(sofa bed) dining room and well stocked kitchen.Recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Maggie,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was also delighted to read that the staff were friendly and helpful through out your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the team.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and our stay was really peaceful and stress free because of helpful and professional staff. David at the reception was the one who helped us for everything. Our room was cleaned and well organized but small to American standards. The hotel offers free Wifi and it was really efficient and easy to connect to. There is no ramp for disabled people into the lobby. The hotel is in the heart of China town and within walking distance to downtown. To get to Rod Laver arena it took us around 20 minutes by walk. We would consider to stay at this hotel again if we go back for Australian Open.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Lily N,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel peaceful and that the staff were professional and helpful, especially David, I will be sure to pass your comments on to him and the rest of the team. Thank you for highlighting the use of the Free Wi-Fi, I'm glad you found it user friendly.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Wanted to stay in various areas of Melbourne. The Crossley was very nicely situated for the Central Business District...really walking distance to everything that that area has to offer. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. I enjoyed some of the books in the library...some titles from long long ago. Would stay here again for the location and the value. Would come back and will recommend to people looking for in the city location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Pamela B,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you were able to make use of our library and I'm glad you liked the selection of books we have available to read. It's also great to read that our staff were polite and helpful and able to assist you with any inquiries that you may have had. I will be sure to pass your comments on to all the team.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very good hotel, by far the best out of 4 on my recent trip to Australia. The location is very good, very close to Chinatown, and everything else. Also very close to absolutely great Red Pepper Indian restaurant, around the corner, close to the Parliament. The room was big, nicely furnished, large and comfortable bed, big modern TV, comfortable armchair – so everything to make the stay pleasant. True, the bathroom was a bit outdated – but not really bad, and big enough. The view from the room was very, very nice. The service good and staff helpful. Free Wi-Fi in the room. All in all, I really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Dimitrije56,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you appreciated the hotel's central location and the use of the free Wi-Fi. I'm also pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, I will be sure to pass your positive comments on to all of the team.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next trip to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for 2 nights earlier this week. Main reasons for booking were the good reviews we had read about it on Booking.com and the relatively low price compared to similar hotels in the CBD.

This hotel did not disappoint us, and was definitely great value for money: staff was very friendly and attentive, and we were always greeted with a smile. They also helped us book an aiport shuttle bus. I liked that it was located in Chinatown, very close to bars, restaurants and shopping streets. Free wi-fi was a huge plus!

Our room was on the 5th floor, overlooking Little Bourke St. It wasnt very big but it was clean and modern, and had a huge flatscreen TV. No fitness centre in the hotel but apparently guests get a discount at some partnership gym. We did not try the breakfast because it wasnt included in the room rate, nor did we eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinsoyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Ponsoyfi,

Thank you for your recent review. I'm pleased to read that you found our hotel value for money.

I appreciate you highlighting the central location of the hotel and I'm glad you enjoyed the use of the hotel's free WI-FI. It's great to read that you found our staff friendly and attentive, I'm glad that were able to organise and assist you in booking your airport shuttle. We certainly pride ourselves on our great customer service levels, so it's rewarding to read your comments. I will be sure to pass this on to all the team.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $94 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing