We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent location, clean and comfortable and good value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crossley Hotel
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, clean and comfortable and good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Crossley for 6 nights at the beginning of September 2012. The taxi to/from the hotel was Aus$50 and took about half an hour. I emailed the hotel before we left home to request whether we could check in early if at all possible and also have a room on a higher floor. Both requests were met and we were so grateful as we'd had a long international flight and arrived early in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive, just how we like it. The room was spacious enough for us as a couple and very clean and comfortable. The coffee making facilities and toiletries were well stocked daily (there was even hot chocolate!) and the refrigerator was very useful. The hotel was in an excellent location and we were able to walk everywhere in Melbourne City Centre very easily. If you turn right out of the hotel it is minutes to walk to Parliament to pick up the free City Circle trams. The free Wi-Fi and free use of the internet at the business centre on Level 4 was an excellent plus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back tomorrow if we could! Thank you to all at the Crossley.

Room Tip: Higher floors reduce inevitable street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Jasmine H

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5/5 review of your recent stay. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate your requests of an early check in and a room located on a higher floor. I am also pleased that you found all the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay and appreciated the well stocked amenities available in the room. I will certainly pass on your thanks and positive feedback to the team.
I appreciate you highlighting the Hotel's excellent location and how easy it is to get around Melbourne, whether by using the free city circle trams or walking.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit back to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    645
    167
    38
    20
See reviews for
296
507
131
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fabulous location, near China Town & very close to theatres, museum & parliament buildings with loads of great eateries nearby. Stayed four nights in a standard room. The room was clean with very comfortable beds & although small it was adequate for our needs. For such a centrally located hotel in a big city it was very quiet. Very helpful & friendly staff ensured we will stay here again on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Dianne R

Thanks for your recent review. I was delighted that you found the room clean and comfortable and found all the staff friendly and helpful. I certainly agree with you, the Hotel does indeed have a fabulous location, within walking distance to many of the city's great restaurants, shops and attractions.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to the city.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Not the newest hotel in Melbourne, but well placed in Little Bourke Street, the Crossley is a good choice for a short stay. The rooms aren't new, but they are comfortable, relatively quiet and very well kept. What sets it apart is the staff, they are awesome. Friendly, hard working and eager to please. If you're looking for a homely, central hotel at a reasonable price (okay we paid a bit more than "reasonable" but it was Grand Final day), try the Crossley.

Room Tip: Get higher to escape occasional street noise, don't be opposite the lifts, they can be a bit clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Scrib310

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I was pleased you enjoyed the Hotel's great location, which is close to many of Melbourne's great attractions, restaurants and shops.
I was also pleased that you found the room comfortable, quiet and well maintained. Thank you also for highlighting the friendly and helpful service offered by all the staff. I will certainly pass on your thanks and appreciation to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My daughter and I stayed three nights at the Crossley and enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Ian who looked after our bags. We were able to check in early which was appreciated and the room was quite adequate with a queen bed and large single. The beds were very comfortable and although the bathroom decor was a bit dated we found the shower pressure very good. There are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance and its not far from the free central city circle tram which we used a few times. We enjoyed coming back from shopping to the happy hour (5pm - 7pm) in the bar with a decent wine for $5 a glass! The only small complaint would be that the continental breakfast is not worth $18. We had a deal through Hotels.com that included the continental breakfast and there was a slight issue when they wanted to charge us for the last breakfast. This was eventually sorted out as I had fortunately taken a copy of my paperwork with me. Otherwise we would recommend Crossley for a good value, central and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank us2kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Us2kiwis

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I am delighted that both you and your daughter enjoyed the 3 nights spent at Crossley Hotel and found the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay. I will pass on your thanks to Ian especially.
I was also pleased that you found the bed and room comfortable and appreciated the happy hour offered daily in Fish Dish Bar.
I apologise about the confusion with your breakfast inclusion, however, am glad this was able to be rectified immediately.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Small hotel in a great location near to lots of good restaurants. Room not large but ok, clean and comfortable with everything you need. Free wifi. Overall we found the hotel itself pretty quiet, as someone previously mentioned, garbos early one morning but in a busy restaurant area that cannot be helped. Staff were helpful and gave information when asked. Good value and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mavincentwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear PerthVincents

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel's great location and found the room clean and comfortable. Crossley Hotel also has Superior Rooms and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, which all offer additional space and facilities within the room. Perhaps you may consider one of these spacious options for your next stay.
Thank you also for highlighting the friendly and helpful service offered by the staff. I will certainly pass on your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We came back for a second stay the location is great close to theatres and parliament house and treasury buildings. Comfortable beds nice and clean the room is well appointed all needs were met. The staff on the desk are very friendly and go out of their way to help you. The room was cleaned every day......lovely!! the bathroom is a little dated but still good value overall. Thanks to running a good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Julie R

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I was delighted that you enjoyed your return stay and found the room comfortable and clean. Thank you also for highlighting the friendly and helpful service offered by all the team. I will certainly pass on your thanks and appreciation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa Lakaschus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, VIC, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Crossley Hotel is well located in Melbourne's theatre district and Chinatown. The rooms were clean but a bath-over-shower configuration in the bathroom is seriously out-of-date. We stayed on a coupon deal ... the full rate quoted @ over $350 would be seriously overpriced. The garbage collection at 5.30am didn't help sleep quality.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Crossley Lane should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa L, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Phil H

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel's central location and found the room clean. The Crossley Hotel provides many modern amenities and facilities, including free Wi-fi and free In-house movies. We have taken on board your comments regarding the current bath option provided and this will be reviewed when planning our continual improvements and refurbishment program.
I apologise if the quality of your sleep was disturbed. However, I can assure you we are actively working with the local council to minimise the noise effects of morning rubbish disposal.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#61 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#16 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#77 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Property: The Crossley Hotel
Address: 51 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing