We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great inner city choice for the inner sweet-tooth”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great inner city choice for the inner sweet-tooth”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very impressed with this hotel and really like the theme of being the place to go (and stay) for the best Desserts in Melbourne. As you walk into the well appointed foyer, you are greeted by a sweet smell of a dessert you are not going to be able to say no to. The front of house staff are excellent. Our room was of good size with comfortable.bed and furniture. Big bowl of lollies was a great addition and the bathroom is also good size. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Chris S,

Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you both back at Adelphi soon.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    167
    58
    13
    10
See reviews for
101
484
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What an amazing experience! The staff were wonderful especially Michael. They were Very professional. Every request I had, they were always happy to accommodate.i had a prompt response from room service or house keeping. The reception desk was always manned and were always available to help. I cannot fault this hotel. I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea_vela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear chelsea_vela,

I love to read reviews that talk about the 'best hotel service' and also rate 5 out of 5 on the other aspects such as cleanliness, value and location. It makes it clear that while they all matter, it is the people you encounter that bring you back. And we have the best.

Thank you so much and see you back soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The Adelphi is great. We had good service, there is free wifi, mini bar and Happy Lab candy. Rooms are stylish with an industrial accent. I really liked the shower pressure. Didn't use the pool and it wasn't an amazing price but I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Kieran W,

Thanks for the kind words and see you back soon for a swim on the roof :)

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful one night stay at the Adelphi . Really friendly, helpful staff who love what they do and go out of their way to help. Comfortable beds and furniture (although G likes a firm pillow), lolly bar (aka the happy lab) a fun touch and interesting reading material to browse over. Some reviews had mentioned street noise being a problem but we did not experience this but ear plugs were provided just I case and others reported no tea and coffee making facilities - we asked if this could be provided and a plentiful supply was there on our arrival. We were upgraded to another room as the bathroom light switch was faulty and also given a free breakfast for the "inconvenience". Loved the quirky furniture, the coffee table books. Location is wonderful. Didn't get to use the pool as we had other things to do. Mostly though it was the lovely staff who ensured we were happy that made the Adelphi experience one that we would love to repeat for a longer stay next time . Loved everything about it - felt like a kid in a lolly shop!

Room Tip: I am sure the staff would be very happy to discuss individual requirements. We mentioned our concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suesuesomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear Suesuesomers,

It was great to read about your enjoyable stay. While the earplugs do occasionally frighten sores guests in relation to impending noise they are very much there as we recognise our extremely central location and know that this comes with the potential noise of the outside world turning. We find the plugs are rarely used.

One change you will notice on your next visit is that no longer will the need arise to call for tea and coffee making items as an espresso machine will soon be placed in every guest room along with the means for a simple yet delicious cup of tea.

Exciting times and thanks for sharing your stay,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hmm, I'll sound like a cynic but this room was super expensive (close to $500) and was not ready when we arrived close to 2pm. Staff were exceptionally nice - but I don't have the inclination to book there again in a hurry mostly because I think the price is enormous. At that time the pool was out of action. All amenities were working well within the room and the bed/linens were of high quality - but for the price I was expecting some thing a little more wow than well appointed furniture and sugar. I found I could hear very clearly people coming and going in the hallway. On the plus side the location is a real winner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aotearoakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2014
Dear aotearoakid,

Thank you for your review of your visit to Adelphi. It seems your stay was somewhat of a mixed bag with many positives to accompany a few shortfalls that clearly impacted on your visit and likelihood to return. While rates do certainly vary from each day to the next it is a greater sense of value that you clearly seek.

I hope you keep Adelphi on your radar as I am confident that some major changes taking place over the coming months (including to the pool deck and in-room offerings) will entice you back.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here in July 2014. From the time we arrived until we left, we had a terrific stay. Attentive friendly staff, good food and service and a fantastic room. The 'theme' of sweetness drifted through the hotel from the ground floor dessert bar to the lollies in the room. Well located in the heart of Melbourne, it provided a great place to return to.

Room Tip: Look for specials from Qantas for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Rick1309,

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Adelphi and for providing such great feedback. You will be pleased to know that we will soon be offering Frequent Flyers to those Qantas guests that choose to stay with us. Fingers crossed we therefore get to see you even more often.

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed at the Adelphi, Melbourne for the first time. I am a regular visitor to Melbourne and have stayed in a variety of 5 star hotels over the years. I have to say however that my experience at Adelphi was amazing. The personal attention by the friendly Staff and the inclusions in the accomodation were fantastic. I love both Art and confess to have a sweet tooth. The Happy Lab bar, the complimentary champagne upon arrival, the comfy bed and room size, as well as the proximity of the hotel to the theatres and shopping centre of Melbourne made my stay a special one. I will certainly be returning! Next time i'll take my bathers as the temp of the roof top pool was very appealing. Thank you Adelphi. I think i have a new favourite!!!
Liz E

Room Tip: For Art and dessert lovers! Very stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizenardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi Lizenardo,

Thank you for your great review of what I can see was a very enjoyable stay at Adelphi. Seems you have found a hotel that is the perfect fit for you. As a regular visitor to Melbourne we look forward to regularly seeing you :)

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,338 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar. Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing