We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #2 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Adelphi for a long weekend. We'd definitely stay here again - excellent location right in the heart of Melbourne, spacious very comfortable room with all the appointments that make for a relaxing stay and friendly staff. Cocktail bar and restaurants in the hotel all of a high standard that reflect the personalised service that only boutique hotels can master. Thanks for an awesome stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leisuretravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Hi Leisuretravel007,

Glad you had an awesome stay and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Kind regards,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

You could almost walk straight past the Adelphi on Flinders Lane as it has a narrow frontage and seems modest and unassuming. That all changes when you step inside and the first thing you see is a large, modern sculpture of a horse dominating the reception area. The staff were immediately attentive and efficient when we got there. We were able to check into our room straightaway, despite our early morning arrival. The friendly staff member who showed us our room explained that the drinks -coke, orange juice and water - were free of charge, along with the contents of a large glass jar which included, nuts, popcorn, chips and fairy floss. He positively encouraged us to eat and drink as much as possible with the assurance that stocks were replenished daily. It made a pleasant change to have complimentary bottled water as hotels often charge for this. Tea and coffee making facilities are available on request and include a plunger with Lavazza coffee (not instant coffee which is the norm in most hotels). The rooms are a good size and the term 'comfy king room' is pretty accurate. They are furnished in a modern, eclectic style while still retaining the essential items such as hanging space and drawers. My one slight regret was the lack of bath but the showers are very spacious and work really well. The breakfast was really delicious. Ours was included in the price and we could order whatever we wanted from the menu. It's an a la carte service, rather than a buffet service and everything was cooked perfectly. The breakfast area doubles up as the cocktail/dessert restaurant and seems a little dark and brooding in the morning but it comes into its own at night with amazing array of sumptuous sweet dishes and exotic cocktails. Actually I do have a slight headache this morning but it was definitely worth it! Overall, this is a great weekend getaway. It's really close to everything, and offers comfort, cleanliness and style in a friendly, slightly quirky environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny-W1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Penny-W1103,

The only thing better than a positive review is a very constructive one such as yours. Thank you for taking the time to provide such specific feedback. This is of great help to not only those looking to visit Adelphi but also to us here at the hotel.

Sorry about your slight headache. We have chocolate that fixes that :)

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was my husband's birthday so I booked at the Adelphi, telling them about our celebration. They couldn't have been nicer, a birthday message was on the mirror in our room - and a chilled bottle of Champagne awaited us. The service from everyone at the hotel was excellent. The decor of the entry and room was fun & quirky.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiOz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear DiOz10,

We love special occasions here at Adelphi so thank you so much for choosing to share your husbands birthday with us. Any excuse to spoil an unsuspecting visitor :)

See you for 'your' birthday soon and thanks for sharing your stay,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Recently refurbished, a bit of Art Deco softening whilst retaining elements of the edgy 90's DCM design, Adelphi is still a great value place to stay if you want an urban location close to the Paris end of Collins Street. The service was exceptional, the team very responsive to my requests. No tea coffee in the room, not a problem, they sent a well stocked tray up straight away, as you do need to ask for this, although complimentary, it's not part of the standard kit.Room service was good for a Sunday night. TV was having issues and the team swiftly attended to it. Definitely will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank happydaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear happydaysSydney,

Thank you for the great review of your stay and your promise to return. It is all about our guests coming back and for this to happen you need the right 'softened' product and the right service. I'm glad you appreciate that these are where we have certainly focused our efforts.

And the more we get to know you, the more likely that tea & coffee tray will already be in the room when you arrive.

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Quite refreshing to get some nice friendly service in Melbourne.
Staff are more than happy to let you store you bags and register for check-in early in the day - even happy to hold a suit jacket on an warm day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Nice to have a complimentary mini-bar and wifi as well as a free drink. A complimentary Peroni at the end ofthe day goes down a treat

Breakfast is great too - baked eggs are fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iain l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi iain I,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent Adelphi visit and in particular your kind words regarding the service you received from the team. We are very aware that the only real way to set ourselves apart is through the individuals delivering our product and I firmly believe we have the best team in Melbourne.

Couldn't agree more on the baked eggs and Peroni either. Two of my favourite things. Like yourself though, I don't have them together at breakfast :)

Thanks again,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night on a recent business trip. The place was busy yet we felt like we were the only guests they had. To greet you by name when you came out of the lift was amazing. Some hotels make you feel like you are bothering them when you need assistance, not these guy.
We left luggage there while we had a meeting, there was no need for tags and all that other BS you get in most hotels. The staff took them off us , stowed them and immediately retrieved our luggage when we entered the lobby.
These are just a few examples of how this hotel goes that extra bit to make you feel special.
You would have read on other reviews about all the freebies, so I wont repeat it.

Whether its business or pleasure, the Adelphi is the place to stay. when in Melbourne.
Its my new home in this town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justcruizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear justcruizen,

Let me firstly say that the stay you experienced is precisely what we are striving to deliver here at Adelphi. Small hotels such as ours present you with a unique opportunity to do things differently and deliver on a more personable level and it's great to read that you experienced this first hand. We very much feel that if we get to know you then a lot of the procedural things can be flexed to make you more comfortable in your new home in Melbourne.

Thank you so much for passing on this very specific feedback and we look forward to welcoming you 'home' again soon.

Kind regards,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just had a three day break in Melbourne, which we do on a regular basis. Have tried a variety of hotels in CBD but on a recent trip saw the Adelphi from the outside and loved what we saw. Location great, rooms great, service great ...and the desserts greaaaat....

Room Tip: our room was perfect, any floor and any room will be a pleasant experience. Don't worry about th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi Russell C,

Thank you for your short but very sweet review. Looks as though you had a 'great' stay :)

See you again soon,
Lance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,368 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,732 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $196 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel is a small hotel that presents an enticing palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and Liquorice All-Sort stools are merely the entree. Discover 34 sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, an intimate & striking lobby space and a magnificent 12 seater private dining/ Boardroom space. Adelphi is (literally) topped off by it's iconic rooftop Pool and Deck area - with it's over-hanging glass bottomed pool. And guests can be wowed by all on offer at famous Om Nom Kitchen. Attached to Adelphi, you'll find Mon Bijou event space and the award winning Ezard restaurant, located in the basement level. A step away from bustling city streets, enjoy the sensation of escape. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Taste the unique offerings. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing