We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in the heart of the action..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #4 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in the heart of the action..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for just one night, but as locals we really enjoyed the experience of staying right in the heart of the city. As a relatively small hotel, you do get that boutique experience of dealing with the same people and having little personalised touches. We had dinner and breakfast just down the road (Cumulus - one of my favourite places to eat in Melb) but took the opportunity to try the desert selections at Om Nom (the Adelphi restaurant) which went down a treat.

Service was first rate in all dealings (front desk, bar/restaurant, phone etc), room was really well appointed and I liked the bathroom design. Bed was soft and super comfy and some free non-alcholic drinks in the mini bar were appreciated and given I've never drank alcohol from a hotel mini-bar in my life this wasn't missed.

Criticisms are all pretty minor: Website FAQs are in the process of being updated, no photos of standard bathrooms on website, my standard annoyance with hotels of the doona being too warm and requiring the AC, and the view being a bit industrial, joinery on cupboard needs attention.

All in all loved the stay and would book here again, if you're after something different to your generic 5 star chains then Adelphi is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andystar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance L, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear andystar82,

Sounds like you should have stayed for two nights :). We would have loved to have you.
Great to see Melbourne locals choosing us for a trip into the city. We are not just for the interstate visitor. Thank you for your kind words regarding our great little hotel, the team and also for the feedback on how we can improve. As a new hotel it is all equally important. The FAQ's should be updated any day now and have been formulated by our expert reception team while the cupboards are somewhat of a hangover from the old Adelphi but in time will be upgraded. Bathroom photos are very, very difficult for us due to the overwhelming amount of mirror but we are looking at ways to get around this.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon. As you are a local, feel free to pop in for a drink or a sweet dessert prior to your next stay.

Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    154
    56
    12
    10
See reviews for
94
440
41
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I took my girlfriend for her birthday.
This experience was awesome.
-When they found out it was her birthday they left a bottle of French sparkling wine for her with a personalised card signed by the team.
- when she was talking to the batman about her new job due to start the next day they gave her a free drink on the house.
-For our departure they let us stay with no extra charge until our plane was due.

It wasn't the freebies but the genuine spirit in which they were offered. We will definitely be back.
Michael, Ren and Alex are the people to ask for. Good job guys.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance L, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Lisa M,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for spending this special occasion with us here at Adelphi. As a team we look for the little unique details that are sometimes the reason for our guests visiting and we like nothing more than making these extra special. We know our greatest point of difference is our people and to hear you mention Michael, Ren and Alex is fantastic. They were very excited to read this as well.

See you back again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I live in Melbourne and was looking for 'special time' with my son on Christmas Eve.
They went out of their way to assist me, and my son felt very special. From a personalised greeting in our room, a lovely cooked breakfast, delightful waitresses, clean room, our over night Christmas stay was a memorable experience.
On Christmas morning I felt like I was in Europe, swimming in the rooftop pool, a lovely soft light and the chiming of the church bells.
A small hotel is the way to go if you want a personalised intimate experience.
Thanks again. We will certainly come and stay again.

Room Tip: Speak with the helpful Michael on reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Good afternoon Sue C,
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your wonderful feedback and also for spending Christmas with us here at Adelphi. We all had a great time and a lot of fun over the holidays and I am glad this was noticed in the service you received during your visit.

'A small hotel is the way to go if you want a personalised intimate experience' is just about the best I've yet read in summing up what we are striving to deliver here at our little hotel in the heart of Melbourne.

Thank you again and have a wonderful 2014.
See you back here soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here late November and we loved it! Excellent service, clean rooms and loved the complimentary snacks. The room design was very interesting. Loved the rooftop pool. Everything we wanted to see/visit was just a walk away. While booking we thought the price was a little high but in the end, considering our pleasant experience and the free snacks, it was well worth it. Since leaving we have been raving about it too all our friends!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank An N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear An N,
Thank you for writing about your enjoyable stay with us and it is hugely appreciated that you are also sharing your stay with those close to you. It is great that you gave our little hotel a chance despite what you initially thought was a slightly too high price and walked away happy and sensing real value for money.

And if you loved the pool now, just wait till we revamp it next year!

Thanks again and have a wonderful new year,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I've wanted to stay at the Adelphi for a long time now and luckily was treated for my birthday this year.
The decor and food was excellent. The bed was about the most comfortable we've ever slept in. We had a quiet stay for three nights, and saw few other guests. The staff were helpful although the woman on reception when we arrived seemed as though she was new and forgot to tell us about room service and the facilities at the hotel and didn't really seem to know how the computer worked... but we got it all figured out.
It will be great to see again when the pool and day spa have been refurbished too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi almulcahy,

It is great to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed spending your birthday at the new Adelphi. A quiet nights sleep in the centre of the city is great to be able to enjoy and can be a tough thing to achieve at times :). I will pass on your feedback to the Om Nom team as they will be thrilled to hear more great things about their creations. My apologies for you arrival experience. Being a new hotel all of the team are relatively new and are constantly presented with new scenarios. Most encouraging is that everyday we are a little better.

We hope to see you back for a swim when the pool deck gets it's full renovation in Winter 2014 but I regrettably must inform you that the new Adelphi will no longer have a day spa.

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

From the moment we were welcomed to when we left (and beyond!) this was a fantastic hotel to stay in, in the city.
With a function just down Flinders lane, we decided to spoil ourselves to a special treat by staying in our own city for the night. The Adelphi has it all. Funky décor, super-comfortable bed, welcoming and competent staff, nice toiletries and complimentary snacks and drinks - they really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
My husband mistakenly left his suit behind in the wardrobe. Later that morning they called us to let us know and it was a quick trip back to the hotel to collect. It was very thoughtful of them.
I would highly recommend this as a place to stay for visitors to Melbourne who want a personal touch with their accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hula-girl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear hula-girl2011,

It is fantastic to read reviews such as yours. The experience you enjoyed is exactly what we are striving to deliver so thank you so much for sharing. Your Adelphi experience starts when you make your reservation and continues well after you have departed. Little things such as the suit you left behind and collected are very much a part of your stay not an addition. If I'm not mistaken I recall the suit and may have in fact called you myself.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for business as we had a function onsite. The room was spotless, with excellent amenities and really funky decor. The bed was extremely comfortable. The ONLY small challenge was the service at breakfast, it was pretty slow, but everything from check-in to check-out was efficient and smooth.

I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi sachaontheroad,
There are not many things we like hearing more than 'I'd stay here again in a heartbeat'. Thank you for your great feedback. My apologies for the 'pretty slow' service at breakfast. As a new hotel we are constantly improving and evolving and I can assure you that an efficient friendly breakfast delivery has been identified as an area where we can grow. Particularly with business travellers like yourself in mind.
Once again thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adelphi soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Property: Adelphi Hotel
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing