We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class Gallery”

National Gallery of Victoria
Ranked #9 of 421 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1861, this is Australia's oldest art gallery.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“World class Gallery”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent collection. Easy access and location. Spacious, enormous range. The entrance has the iconic 'Water Wall' which we all love, and you can feel it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,674
    1,032
    164
    47
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Monet exhibition - spectacular”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Not only was the exhibition absolutely wonderful, I particularly loved the cafe decked out like Monet's kitchen, with the divine fresh hyacinths, peonies and roses on every table. Well done the NGV!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Monet in Melbourne!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love Monets' paintings and was very pleased to hear the NGV was putting on an exhibition. I have visited his garden in Giverney outside Paris, seen some lovely paintings at MOMA and the Met in New York and was very happy Melbourne was putting on a show, I just never get tired of seeing his paintings. The NGV is a fantastic venue, just the water wall at the entrance alone is great. After going through the rooms of Monets' works they have computers where you can look at historys timeline paralelled with Monets life. There is also a little display cabinet with a couple of his personal items displayed, unexpected but very welcome. We followed up the tour with a french desert and coffee, lovey finish. I also have to mention the staff we encountered were very nice and friendly, must come back for the next display, very enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Gallery”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The gallery houses an excellent collection of international and australian art. The NGVI had a great temporary exhibition showcasing the photography of thomas demand. I recommend checking out what exhibition are on and making a day of your visit to the arts precinct.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradical B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Monet's garden”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lucky to be in Melbourne the day after this exhibition opened. Great to see some world class paintings in a lovely setting. Some effort had been made to dres up the cafe to give it a "French" look. Prices in the shop were good to buy Monet bits and pieces; e.g. prints for $156

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanb255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Victoria also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing