We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many animals not available”
Review of Melbourne Zoo

Melbourne Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.04*
and up
Melbourne Zoo General Entry Ticket
Ranked #15 of 419 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey through a world of wildlife in the heart of Melbourne. Over 250 species from around the world can be found in the beautiful setting of Melbourne Zoo, just five minutes from the city centre. Stroll through the lush Asian and African rainforests, Australian bushland and even underwater! Walk where tigers roam and monkeys swing from tree to tree. See eye-to-eye with the Orang-utans in their special elevated exhibit, explore the Trail of Elephants and then head down the bush track to see unique Australian wildlife including koalas, kangaroos, wombats and emus. Submerge yourself in our underwater world to see Victoria's iconic Little Penguins, Australian Fur Seals and more! Meet the Keeper: Hear our expert keepers give daily talks about the animals in their care. Close-up Encounters: Book a close-up encounter with one of our animals for a great photo opportunity. Melbourne Zoo is also the proud winner of the Victoria Tourism Awards RACV People’s Choice category, voted by Victorians as their Favourite Metro Attraction in both 2015 and 2016!
Umag, Istarska, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“many animals not available”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

many cages were empty. unfortunately we were not able to see not even the elephants. I expected much, much more!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,914
    1,556
    492
    121
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small Zoo”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

this is one of the smallest Zoo I have been to but its clean and the animals have been taken care of very well

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit for all ages.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Liked the layout of the animal enclosures, the grounds and it was so interesting to see the range of animals/birds there. Have been to zoos around the world and Melbourne's is up there with them.

Helpful?
Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Zoo trip”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are zoo goers so have seen some very nice zoos and liked the Melbourne zoo especially their Australian exhibits. This is a fairly large zoo with room to walk. We hit it in late summer so dry and a little worn with the summer heat. The zoo is nicely landscaped and has some very nice open exhibits. I would add to you list of things to do while in Melbourne. We walked form downtown and it may be a little bit of a walk for most but through some beautiful neighborhoods and by the Melbourne University.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brad c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was a must do for us being great animal and Zoo lovers!
We were not disappointed and the cost of $26.10 per adult was great value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank peepo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Zoo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing