We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #98 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I booked this hotel the day prior to check in on hotels.com paying upfront 109 AUD. The hotel sits along Spencer Street, a short walk to Malbourne's Southern Cross railway station. I still do not understand what happened to Australian hotel standards. The girl was SEATED when I arrived and never bothered to look at me or acknowledge my presence. No guidance or any facility explained whatsoever. I was given a room with a literally rubbish view (rubbish outside the window) or no view at all if you call it this way. There was dust and hair on wall socket and around the skirting behing the sofa. The bed comfortable, a safe was there as well. Bathroom clean. The room fridge contained two wine glasses and other normal glasses, some milk sashets. Close to Malbourne's Crown night entertainment and generally by a free circle tram stop around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,630 - 1,636 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Great Value, great amenities, Microwave, in room safe, DVD and great LCD TV. Housekeeping is spartan, yes they don't change the sheets daily, but I don't at home and I only stayed 3 nights. The exchange I witnessed between the Housekeeping Supervisor and her room attendants certainly let me know that time and costs were paramount. I'm ex Rooms Division and I can smell cut backs. It's not 4 star, closer to a well managed 3 star, with really good amenities, the lower service levels are a new trend creeping in from the US, but they usually offer the choice of paying for the additional items.
I would be happy to stay here again, Room 927 at the back of the building, City View, windows still covered in builders dirt from construction, but whisper quiet.
Beds and pillows were the best I've found in many hotels in years.
Enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airline_GuySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had a great stay here. The bed was very comfortable (reminded us of Hampton Inn) and the room was spotless. Great location, short walk to Southern Cross station and next to City Circle tram line. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

stayed at Atlantis Hotel for 2 nights. Room was comfortable and cleen, breakfast was good (especially since it was included in the room price), however reception staff could probably do with some costomer service training. few of the ladies behind the front counter were pleasent, polite and helpful however some staff was very cool and arogant. It was a bit unfortunate and unneccasary, but overall this hotel offers value for money and convinient location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beata15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This Hotel was a very nice comfortable stay. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel is brand new with all mod cons. Parking is available for those of you driving in ($15 a day). We stayed for 5 days at the hotel - great location, minutes walk from Spencer St Station, Etihad Stadium in Docklands and 10 minutes walk from Flagstaff Gardens and Queen Victoria Market. The number 75 tram takes you from the Hotel to the MCG for any footy matches, perfect! I will definitely stay here again on my travels back to Melbourne...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

A really decent choice for Melbourne. Got a rate on Agoda for 67GBP per night which I thought was reasonable. We had the basic room with 'no view'. It had a window that faced onto a brick wall but since we were off exploring most of the day this didn't matter. Location is good and really close to the free city circle tram.

Room was clean, bathroom clean but I did notice that the shower had some mould like marks on it.

Reception pretty standard - not over friendly, not rude.

Slept well, no noticeable noise (we were on the 7th floor)

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Student123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My colleague booked this hotel via online promotion that costed the company less than AU$130 per night. It was a great promotion!! This hotel was located near to the main bus terminal (from the airport), very near to the tram stop, 5minutes to fast food outlets and grocery store too. The room we stayed was facing the stadium, clean and the bed was very comfy. But they do not let us borrow / loan an international socket adapter. So we have to purchase it at AU$10.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurtleFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
3,402 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#87 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $79 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing