We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation: reliable, central and close to transport”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #95 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Great accommodation: reliable, central and close to transport”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here twice during May 2014 and we were very impressed on both occasions.

Our bookings were made via Qantas online and our rooms were about $125 per night.

Our first stay was for one night and our room was on the 15th floor with a city view. Our second stay was for three nights, also on the 15th floor but with a Dockland's view. The rooms were identical as were our stays so I'll combine my review as one.

The front of house and housekeeping staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was fresh and clean, neat and compact comprising a queen bed, sofa, desk and chair, mini-fridge with tea and coffee facilities, and on-suite.

The on-suite was very clean and neatly appointed. The bathroom was one of the main reasons we were so impressed as it had a fantastic large shower and, considering the price we paid for the room, was an outstanding feature.

The air conditioning was another stand-out feature. With our own control panel, we could set the temperature and airflow. It made for a wonderful night's sleep (every night's sleep!). Extra pillows and blanket are available in the wardrobe.

Coles and cafes are close-by so we didn't make use of the breakfast room. The free city circle tram is also close by so it was an easy trip to Elizabeth Street and Melbourne Central. Also the Spencer Outlet Centre is across the road for some handy shopping. Several other tram routes are close by so we could tram to Exhibition Street and the theatre and Chinatown.

We parked a car for one night which at $15.00 per night is more than reasonable. Also we were lucky that our hire car could be returned in Spencer Street.

The pool appeared to be a winner with the young families and young people staying.

The hotel is very quiet but at the same time close to pubs and bars. Also ridiculously close to Etihad Stadium so ideal for the football.

We'll definitely be returning. It was everything we needed and great value.

Room Tip: Rooms on 15th floor provided great city or Dockland's view and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    862
    392
    129
    81
See reviews for
204
774
275
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here early May 2014. Reception friendly. Great location, across the road from Coles, Spencer Street Outlet, Southern Cross Railway Station and Sky Bus. Free city circle tram close by. Short walk to Docklands. Nice walk into the centre of the city, if you like walking.
Stayed in a city view room, level 15 in a corner. Quiet, good spot. Nice view, but windows were filthy!
They like to pump the Latin music through the lifts... nothing wrong with that!
Room was basic, but clean and modern. Bed was comfy. No top sheet on the bed - is that normal now a days?! Doona was very warm. Pillows were too soft for my liking. No Foxtel and no SBS, if you like that channel. Very small bathroom, but big size shower. I got breakfast included, it was basic, cereal, toast, eggs and beans. Coffee, tea and juice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Chose it because of proximity to Southern Cross St. Took a while to find it in the dark - sign very small - street ill lit.
Happy with service and staff. Would stay again because of position.
Good as a base and for an overnighter

Room Tip: We were on level 9 - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Front desk staffs are helpful , Lets us check in early and late check out, when we get into the room, the first thing i've noticed was the bathroom tiles are all mould around it, the exhaust fan full of dust and not working very well, the wine glass in the fridge still got sticky drink in it, bed are comfty but the pillows are too flat , good location if you are using public transport,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here recently. For what we paid we found the room to be fine. It was clean and quiet. No view. We were able to enjoy walks to all the places we wanted to go. Close to a Coles. Close to station. Close to Circle tram. Disappointed that we couldn't use our Best Western card as we had booked through a third party. Best Western needs to make that clearer. You only get points if you book direct! Strange. Probably won't go there again. We love visiting Melbourne and next time think we will try Mantra.

Room Tip: We asked for a non smoking on a lower floor. Though no view we weren't bothered by noise or ciga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyfulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Good 3.5 star hotel
24hr desk and close to trams , sky bus etc
It's a bit of a walk to decent shops so best to take the circle free tram to Elizabeth street and walk
I enjoyed a meal at the Italian restaurant just next door and docklands is tram accessible too
Did not find there was traffic noise however I was on the 14th floor
Seemed popular for younger people however I stayed on a Friday night so could be that
Has a pool and gym neither used by me.
The overall street area is a bit dark so if you are nervous it's probably not for you

Room Tip: Did not seem to have room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Booked this place as they had 3 nights for AUD $366 thru Booking. com. So at $122 per room per night the price was ok. Would have been even better value if I had a travel partner on this trip at $61 pp. I would not have probably paid anymore though.

GOOD FEATURES: Friendly reception staff, free bag holding service once you have checked out, nice indoor pool, gym and sauna. (the pool and the sauna were cold though and I ended up not using them which seemed like a waste). Bfast while basic was fresh and readily restocked and very good price at $12 pp. Convenient location for the Southern Cross Station which is good when you have just arrived in town on the Sky Bus from the airport or train.
The bed was a little soft but I had good sleeps on it.

PROBLEMS: I had the top floor (18th) and above is residential. This meant I was subject to cigarette smoke pouring thru the bathroom vent every time the resident had a smoke. There is nothing the hotel can do about it. Also there was a very strong overpowering curry cooking smell coming thru. So I would recommend if you ask for a higher floor to go maybe 17 or below to get away from the apartments above. By the way the view is not much due to surrounding buildings and narrow windows so wouldnt get hung up on obtaining a view.

OTHER THINGS: Just little things that you wouldnt worry about but were noticeable...There was dirty grout in the shower, long hairs in the bathroom (not mine as I have little hair these days), smashed skirting boards, crooked pictures and you have to shower with tiny little hand soap unless you bring your own. There was a big old graffiti in the mens room in the lobby which I told them about one morning at 7am and it was still there at 4pm the next day. Surprising that it would be there at all and that it wasnt removed asap. The guy that I told seemed more worried about finishing his shift and going home. However there seems to be a significant amount of graffiti in Melbourne CBD anyway so whats one more?. Location is far from the Federation Square for tours but there is a pick up from the tour cos which was helpful.

Overall fine hotel if you are not going to stand around assessing it much or be there much as after all you should be out and about. Rooms tidy but basic and good service overall, just a few silly blemishes I guess. If returning to Melbourne would probably try another place for variety.

Room Tip: Dont take top floor (18th) as you are subject to the smells and lifestyles of private residents abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Property: Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing