We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped make a weekend away Brilliant!”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #95 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We only tried this Hotel due to it's affordability and location. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement.The Mattress was the most comfortable that we have ever slept on. I had the best sleep I've had in years. Parking was next door and we were central to every thing.
If I had a criticism, it would be that the Toilet Roll Holder was too far behind and hung the wrong way, but in the big scheme of things, this was a very minor hiccup. We will return!
Annie T.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, Front Office Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks - I have shared your feedback with the entire team at the hotel and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,910 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at Atlantis Hotel on five separate occasions. I live in the rural Victoria and need to come to Melbourne for business from time to time.

I am continually impressed by the level of service provided and the rooms are great value for money.

The location is excellent with public transport right at the door step.

Would recommend the Hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodMorning111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, Front Office Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks and we look forward to seeing you next time your in Melbourne !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We couldn't beat the location, we stayed for 3 nights but extended for another two. The room was new and very clean and was a very good size for a couple with lots of luggage. The buffet breakfast every morning was excellent. I couldn't fault the hotel amenities or the staff when we checked in and out. We had a great stay and would def. recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Atlantis was a great place to stay! Location, accommodation and facilities at the right price.
Excellent service with a smile, a very comfortable bed, a simply stylish, clean and spacious room, a very good bathroom (the first hotel with a decent ventilation system that we've shared in quite a while), a very reasonable breakfast coming out of an obviously spotless and efficient kitchen, quiet and fast lifts, a pretty well equipped gym, a great salt-water pool and a sauna, what more could you ask for? Well it also offered great parking, peace and quiet - no rabble-rousing clientele in the four days we stayed over a long weekend, which was a real treat.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel group that supports good management philosophies and you will be looked after for sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, Front Office Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you - we aim to provide high quality cost effective accommodation in Melbourne and appreciate your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent Location, Stayed for 5 days, Room was very clean, and good size, room was very quite, 100 meters to the train station. Five minute walk to the city centre, 10 minute walk to Victoria Market. 5 minute walk to Docklands, Supermarket a cross the road, It was 3 minutes walk from where the Sky Bus drops you off at Southern Cross. Staff were friendly and happy
to help to all my needs. Overall i was very happy with my stay, i would come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efrem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I searched up The Atlantis via Tripadvisor and found the offer, that is still listed, of a free breakfast for all rooms. When I went to book the Family Room, it did not have the breakfast included, so I rang the hotel. They said they couldn't confirm it but if it was listed then they were sure it would be honored. Next day I talked to someone else who said they were the Manager, and were incredibly rude and said the breakfast wasn't included and I could cancel the booking if I wanted to. We decided to stay because of the location. When we got to the hotel we queried this again and were given the breakfasts.

Then there is the room. The Family Room on the hotel website is listed as having a couch in the main bedroom as there is no living area. This is not true. The first room we were given was very poky, and no room for our family of 4 to sit together at all. We queried the design against the room plan and photos on the website, and at first the reception staff didn't believe us, until we showed them on our phone. The best they did was move us to a better designed Family Room, but still no couch as in the photo and the floor plan. They said none of the Family Rooms had one. They said they would talk to someone about this, but as the offer they disputed with me about breakfast has now remained unchanged on Tripadvisor for at least 2 months, I doubt it so be aware. Also the Family Rooms have no real external windows, just overlook an apartment building very close up.

The location is great, no doubt about that, but they need to get their act together.

Room Tip: If getting a Family Room get one ending in a 04, not 06 (they appear to be the only Family Rooms), a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandash67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, General Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your review - yes the breakfast is included on ALL reservations made directly from our own web site and this was a minor oversight and as you correctly pointed out it was included on your stay as it has been for every other reservation made directly if you read the other reviews.

As for the Family room here is the description from our own web site :

Family Suite

2 Bedroom Hotel Suite which do no have any views but can accommodate families. Accommodates maximum of 2 adults and 2 children in 1 Queen Size Bed and 2 single beds in the second bedroom.

As you can see it clearly states NO VIEWS and then if you look at the room layout it does not show any living areas either. Recently the couches have been replaced with 2 sofa chairs which serve the exact same purpose in allowing 2 people to sit.

I believe next time you stay in Melbourne perhaps look for an apartment rather than a hotel such as ours as this will provide your family with more space.

Thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed in queen city view room & room was a good size. Waited ages to check in as only one person on reception and was on the phone forever. Staff not welcoming or helpful and this is the second time I have stayed here and service again poor. Air conditioner extremely noisy with banging pipes?? all night long. Room needed some maintenance. No papers even though room compendium states papers available at reception. Can hear toilet flushing and water running from room next door - not very soundproof.
Great location, handy to trams, sky bus, trains, Docklands & shops/supermarket. Overall not bad for the price. Main downfall is the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,476 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
3,035 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $73 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing