We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star business hotel”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #101 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Burbank, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good 3 star business hotel”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had stayed here for 22 days on my business trip to Melbourne.
Location: Great: Hotel is a stone's throw away from Southern Cross, Opposite to Coles supermarket (Including Beer and Liquor Store), A block away from Park and inside CBD. Trams right outside the Hotel.
Hotel Breakfast: OK. Not much to say. Menu is same all days. Continental with Hot Scrambled Eggs and Bean. Bread, Coffee and Cereals. I was tried of this the 3rd day as couldn't eat the same stuff. Very limited options.
Rooms: 3 star Worth. Average size room with a desk and chair and a small King Bed. King beds are not the size of USA kings, it like Queen. Quite Rooms and Bath was normal size not cramped.
Parking: 15$ Self Parking was in the hotel and elevators were from inside hotel itself to parking floors. But the driveway inside garage is narrow. Parking on street is free from 7PM to 8AM and Plenty on both sides of Hotel. Dont drive Inside CDB is my advice - Too many cameras.
Employees: What u can expect out a normal hotel - no one to carry luggage or guide you, they re working there, Even for luggage drop off and pick up - we will have to put it in room yourself and take it. They work there and you sty there - that about that.
Business Center and Internet: Internet is abt 30$ a week for 1 GB or something (But its by GB) Hotel has computer and printers - but there are no internet in business center unless u pay an additional fee.
Overall - 3 Star Hotel and average stay.

Room Tip: Back side of Hotel Rooms are Quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, General Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for the review - I would like to inform you that we are officially rate by AAA Tourism as a 4 STAR Hotel and just last week had this rating re-confirmed.

We have a business center located on level 3 where you can use the PC's for printing and other such tasks however like most Australian Hotels Internet is charged at a minimum fee - we feel our internet charges of $12.95 for 24 hours / $29.95 for 7 days or $49.95 for a month are more than reasonable and much cheaper than other 4 star hotels in the Melbourne.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you when you are next in Melbourne.

On your next stay I recommend that you book direct on our website and get the continental breakfast thrown in for free every morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    869
    397
    129
    82
See reviews for
206
779
277
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spending very little time in a hotel when I'm travelling on business I was looking for something more resonably priced with a good location in Melbourne's CBD.

Well I found it. This hotel is ideally located on Spencer Street with easy access To Southern Cross Train Station and trams.

The hotel is modern, clean and tidy.

I paid $99.00 per night room only through Wotif and I can safely say that I will be staying there again the next time I'm in Melbourne on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntneyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, Front Office Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed four night s and unless we requested the bathroom be cleaned and the room be vacuumed it did not happen. We had no window in the room which makes it very dark and I believe a safety issue as we were in a back corner on the floor. There are no towel bars in the bathroom and the lighting is just plain bad. We had lights out in our room and the internet box on our tv did not work.
The location is great with great places to walk close by and the train a block away. The staff was very nice and very informative if you needed information. But I wouldn't stay there again in a room like that and they need to be real when they put pictures and information out n the booking sites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senior_director84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My big gripe with this place was that the bathrooms, and showers in particular, were not adequately cleaned. Hair was stuck on the tiles from previous guests, and even after mentioning this to the cleaning staff, this was still not addressed. The location is good, but not great, depending on what you're planning to do in Melbourne. The nicest part was the pool and sauna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent location. About 150 metres from Coles and very close to trams and train services. Easy walking distance to Harbor Town, DFO, Ethihad Stadium and the Markets.
Buffet Breakfast was included which represented great value for money (scrambled eggs, toast, baked beans, juice, cereal).
The rooms were clean, neat and tidy.
I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times in the past the past 3 to 4 years. And will continue to stay at this hotel when I visit Melbourne.
I have always had a pleasant stay on each occassion and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachyRach988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall the experience was good. The only downsides were the room had one downlight. The room definately needs more lighting. Additionally the bathroom while functional it was on the small side and you were limited to where you could place toiletries. The bedroom was spacious but limited to draw space which left you with little alternative but to literally live out of the suit case. They did have plenty of wardrobe space for hanging items. Although the hotel did not have a guest laundry you could drop off you laundry bag in the evening and collect early morning washed and folded for $15. This we found to be a great service.
The location is fantastic being just up the road from Spencer Street Station.
We will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is very well presented and the room cleanliness is to a very high standard. The Atlantis is well located with easy access to all of Melbourne's public transport. It's also a comfortable walk (20 minutes) to the bustling Southbank restaurant and bar precinct. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate and the hotel really represents great value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemcg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Property: Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing