We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #93 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. The rooms were small but very clean and the staff were really friendly and helpful. There is a tram stop right outside which made it easy to get around.
We stayed in a CityView room although we didn't really have a view over the city, we could see the side of a couple of buildings.
It wasn't the type of hotel that I would want to spend a long part of the day in but it was great for us as we spent most of our time out and about.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    834
    376
    126
    73
See reviews for
193
743
265
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked an executive room via the Hotels web site at $130, with a note that we were arriving from Europe late that night and would like a quiet room. The room was large with a spacious bathroom including walk in shower. We had stayed some years ago and enjoyed the outlook to the city sky line and remember it being quiet. Unfortunately our room on the 13th floor, although it overlooked Docklands faced Spencer Street, the trams as they turned into Spencer Street made a very loud metallic screeching noise, which woke us at 6.00am. Not what I would call a quiet room. The other downside was that there was no free wi fi. It was available we were advised at a small cost, if it’s so small why charge it at all. In this modern day it should be part of the tariff. The free breakfast was basic, cereal scrambled eggs baked beans and toast, nothing special. It is handy to Southern Cross Station but may consider elsewhere unless we can be guaranteed a quieter room and free wi fi.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Spencer Street, early trams will disrupt sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Half the rooms face a powerful GSM antenna system, dangerously close. When requesting rooms facing elsewhere, the reply by staff, quite inattentive in all moments, was to take either a room with no windows (!), or to pay a 30$ surcharge for a room that, being equal to the others, offers as only advantage not exposing you to microwave risks.
Besides, poor breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedropedropedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Wollongong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very handy for Etihad stadium, Southern Cross Station, Docklands. The CBD is about a 15 minute walk but the free City Circle tram stops right outside. The room was nice enough - we took a tip from this site and booked a city view room and it was certainly quiet. Loved the bathroom / shower with one minor complaint - there is only one coat hook behind the door so nowhere to hang towels to dry if you need to shower more than once a day. The staff were all friendly and helpful - maybe the rude ones have been marched. The breakfast was reasonable value for money - a good selection of cereals, wholemeal, fruit and white bread for toast, various spreads, juice , tea coffee and baked beans and scrambled eggs for $12 per head. I would look elsewhere but would happily stay here again if I couldn't find anything else.

Room Tip: Definitely a city view room - the trams on Spencer St are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stay at this hotel regularly due to work commitments and only being 5 mins away from the office it really suits me.
Always welcomed by reception, clean and modern rooms, very quiet, onsite car parking is available and a good rate keeps me returning.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Chosen for its location (near Southern Cross station), rating and price. The room was comfortably furnished, let down by a couple of damaged and non-working items. Reception desk informed straight away but nothing had changed by the time I'd left 3 days later. Staff seemed a little disinterested all the time.

Breakfast was poor, very basic. If it's included in your room rate, fair enough, but I wasn't happy to have parted with cash for it. Top tip is to locate the WILLIAM ANGLISS college in the same block as the hotel. They have a cafe and bakeshop with lovely food at very reasonable prices. Google it ! (this isn't spamming - it's a catering college where the people seem to know their stuff).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgfordRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Booked this hotel on Wotif for the night of a wedding that my partner and I were attending as it was close to Docklands; I booked the basic entry level view with breakfast, but on arrival found that we'd been upgraded to a room with a view of Docklands. Late checkout was also organised at no extra cost. The room was clean and modern, and the reception staff friendly and courteous. The only thing we couldn't figure out was how to set the clock, which was promptly unplugged! Breakfast was basic, but tasty all the same (choice of cereals, toast, raisin toast, scrambled eggs and baked beans).

All in all, a great hotel - would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing