We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality Renovation Taking Place”
Review of Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #95 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Quality Renovation Taking Place”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Stayed for just one night on recent business trip. The parking was easy and cheap, and reception staff very good. One of the lifts was being renovated so was out of action but there was plenty of signage to apologise for the delays in getting up and down the hotel tower.

Room was very clean, well maintain with good quality bedding etc. Can't fault it really apart from no iron in the room. There was a ironing board so assume the iron had gone walkabout.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    860
    389
    129
    80
See reviews for
202
773
273
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The location is great; close to shopping, cafes, parks and the Victoria Markets are within walking distance - everything is. The rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is varied and well prepared, its reasonably quiet and the staff friendly and helpful. What more can I say....great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

On the plus side, the hotel is a close walk to the airport shuttle bus stop. And it is only a short walk to the docklands.

On the negative side, the hotel is filthy. The windows are so dirty that the view (which is not great) is negatively impacted. A small glass table top was not fastened to the stand, which presented a serious hazard. There was no top sheet for the bed (we had to ask for a second sheet). There are only two elevators and one was out-of-order on a holiday weekend -- talk about slow! The bathrooms are very small. The breakfast was both horrible and overpriced. There was no ice bucket.

This was the absolute worst accommodation we have ever experienced in Australia, and just beats out the hotel in Haast, New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Nice hotel, staff friendly, rooms clean, great sauna and little gym & swimming pool. The location is good for being across the Spencer St shopping mall, but a little bit away from the main shopping centre. I couldn't figure out the aircon - and it was cold!! Couldn't find instructions where they were supposed to be. Absolutely no view (looked out onto a brick wall), and initially the smell of cleaning products was very strong - and off course no windows to open. Wifi was very expensive - staff were unable to tell me where I could go for free internet access. It was however a clean, comfortable basic and nice hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGirl69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I found the staff and hotel in general to be excellent. I made changes to my booking the day before arriving to a cheaper room that included breakfast. Cancelling my original booking was no problem for the friendly staff and my stay went off without any problems. I found the room clean and well appointed. The gym was excellent for what I needed and the free breakfast was adequate each morning, although I didn't bother trying the coffee. Much preferred to get a proper coffee at a better location in the heart of the CBD. The hotel location is great for games at Etihad Stadium and I definitely recommend a visit to the Angliss Institute Bakeshop just around the corner in La Trobe St. Overall, would recommend a stay for anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooper-Duffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, General Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thanks for the feedback - we try to pride ourselves on offering value for money accommodation in Melbourne. I assume you found that we offer the best rates on our own website which also allows you to cancel at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

wonderfully located close to shopping and sporting stadiums.staff were very helpful and friendly especially kirsty who always had a smile on her face.rooms were modern,clean and fairly spacious also.the breakfast facilities were also excellent with a good variety of breakfast items.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, General Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thanks - Really appreciate the feedback !

We are one of few owner operator hotels in Melbourne of this size and we really do try to go the extra mile for all our guests.

We have been in the industry for 20 years now and continue to try to welcome people to Melbourne and the Atlantis Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed two nights here for a conference at Melbourne convention centre. Yes, it's far away from Melbourne convention centre, so location wise I made a mistake there. Had the morning buffet breakfast included, the food was ok. Probably would've preferred McDonald s breakfast though. Scrambled eggs, baked beans, bread can be toasted, butter, etc, juices including apple, pineapple, tea, coffee.

One of the elevators broke, so had to wait 20minutes during peak periods to get back to my room on the 14th floor. Nice!! Sarcasm*. Hotel staff seemed average, free the australian newspaper in lobby to pick up yourself daily.

Tv size I think was 20inches? Didn't measure. No foxtel, just digital free to air tv. Which I found to be very poor reception and tv goes in and out of darkness.

Liked the bathroom shower. Good strong pressures. No free wifi.
Sheet and bed was clean. Easy access to free city circle tram.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwioptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantis300, Front Office Manager at Atlantis Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your review - All our rooms are equipped with 32 inch Sharp LCD TV's with access to all free to air channels available in Melbourne plus the ability to purchase Movies on Demand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Hotel

Property: Atlantis Hotel
Address: 300 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Best Western Atlantis Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing