We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
$146
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Meatman102
NYC

This is a Very Good Location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 23, 2014
We stayed five nights and really enjoyed this hotel.We were very happy with the room,employees and location.The staff helped us find many sights and attractions.They even found us a laundry.We would highly recommend this property as a hotel, in this great city.
Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Nov 25, 2014
Dear Meatman102,
I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your 5-night stay here with us. Glad you had some time to see some of the sights in our 'Most Livable City"! Hope your travels bring you back this way again.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Space Deck
Booking.com
$66
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $60
  • Agoda.com
    $48
  • Algotels
    $59
0.2 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Fitness center
Booking.com
$104
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $90
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Room service
The Family Room at the City Square Motel
Booking.com
$57
  • Vio.com
    $54
  • Agoda.com
    $48
  • Expedia.com
    $60
0.4 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Deluxe King Corner Room
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $91
  • Algotels
2.6 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $142
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Standard Room
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $66
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Pool
Fitness center
Batmans Hill Exterior Night Web
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
    $70
  • travelup.com
1.0 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $49
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $46
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Fitness center
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
    $145
  • travelup.com
1.1 miles from Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Melbourne
Reviews (2,277)
Filter reviews
2,277 results
Traveler rating
1,405
644
153
53
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,405
644
153
53
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge concierge desk exhibition street valet parking early check an upgrade buffet breakfast free tram chinatown theatre city mcg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,473 - 1,478 of 2,277 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2014

I just got back from a one night stay in Melb. and enjoyed my stay at Marriott whilst there. Was fantastic to be greeted at the door with a choice of either bubbles, juice or water during checking into the hotel. First impressions do last and in this case created the WOW!!! effect. Although the property looked like it has been around for a few years, it was well maintained and quite modern. Wifi was freely accessible in the lobby, lounge bar and rooms which is always a plus. To get free wifi in your room you just need to be a member of the Marriott rewards membership which is also free to join. Enjoyed a few beverages in the lounge bar in the evening, the service was excellent and the staff were very attentive.

The only thing i found a little funny was express check out. The bill was slipped under the door and on the reverse of the bill had mini bar consumption options which i filled in, also asked if payment was to be done on the card used when checking in and if ok to email the receipt and finally sign and just present at front office for express check out. Checked out at about 8:30am a gentlemen was standing at the lobby to greet us and took the signed bill but asked me to follow him to the reception and he preformed a normal check out which was not a express check out. Apart from this the short stay was delightful. Will recommend to others.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshwinDeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Dear AshwinDeo,
I was pleased to receive your TripAdvisor posting.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I did appreciate you mentioning your bewilderment with the Express Check-out. The procedure is as you described, but on departure you should have been directed to the 'Express Check-out box' which is on the Front Desk rather than to one of our Reception associates. Should you happen to be leaving at a particularly busy time this is obviously a quick process. I am very sorry for the delay on this occasion and will ensure that this is highlighted with all concerned.
Hope to have you back again soon.
Regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

This review is a bit over due but worth mentioning.

I was on a leisurely trip to Melbourne and stayed at Marriott for about 3 nights.The room was modern and very comfortable. Being a Platinum member as i entered the room i found complementary drinks (u get to choose between Soft drink/Wine),a Cloth Swan and chocolates on the Bed which was a nice way to say "We care"

Food:
It was a little confusing to get to the mezzanine the first time as there was no separate floor for it.The Breakfast is typical of Marriott, Croissants/cakes on one side and smashed egg/sausage on the other. There is no open kitchen but you can customize your tea/coffee through help of the staff at the mezzanine.

There are also plenty of food options the moment you step out of Marriott as this property is situated in the hustle and bustle of Melbourne CBD.

Issues Faced:
Me and my wife got locked out of our room due to faulty front door lock ,but the staff were helpful and we were given an upgrade immediately.

Cost:
I think this Marriott is on the costlier side more due to the location than the facilities provided.But if you get a good deal then this is a great place for a short stay.

Room tip: As the hotel is situated at the corner of exhibition street any room above 5th floor would give a great view of the Melbourne CBD (Central Business District) i.e Downtown
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suhel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Dear Suhel K,
Thank you for your feedback - particularly after such a long time. Good to know your visit must have been memorable!
I was most concerned to hear that you had issues with your keycard, but pleased that you were upgraded to another room. We greatly value our Platinum members and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your visit overall.
Hope to have you and your wife back again soon.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Overall, our family of 4 had a good stay during the six nights we were there. Although I requested for interconnecting rooms when I made reservations, I must've overlooked the fact that this hotel does not have them in their Standard rooms. To make it more convenient for us since we were traveling with kids, Lyda at the Front desk offered us interconnecting rooms on the Executive Level + daily valet parking + the daily breakfast that comes with it at the Executive Lounge for $60/room/night. And so we upgraded, and although we could have had our daily breakfast in the vacinity and maybe park somewhere else, the extra we paid for the convenience of it all was quite alright.

Breakfast was a simple spread but adequate and tasty. Lily from the Executive lounge made us feel welcomed with friendly conversation and stocked us up with bottles of water for our days out on the road. Meanwhile, Freddy the gentlemen who tidied our rooms, never failed to greet us with a friendly "hello". After a short chat with Freddy one day, it was obvious that he takes pride in his job and enjoys doing it.

Located in the crowded CBD where buildings are built close to each other, one side of the Marriott faces the windowless wall of the tall building next door. We had a pleasant city view of Exhibition St from our rooms on the other side. The double glass windows insulated the rooms from any street noise and we had a good sleep every night.

The location was excellent, with loads of restaurants, a launderette, the free tourist tram, car rental companies, RMIT university, the Melbourne gaol, supermarket at QV centre, Emporium (mall) plus more all within a 10-15 mins walk away.

Would stay here again if we return to Melbourne, but wish they had interconnecting Standard rooms as an option.

Date of stay: November 2014
3  Thank Dalikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Dear Dalikestotravel,
Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor review following your family's recent stay with us. You obviously enjoyed your visit to Melbourne. Please keep in mind for any future visits that we do have a limited number of standard rooms which interconnect (one room has a queen bed, the other two double beds). We have however been extremely busy over the last few weeks and I feel that we must not have had this configuration available for the duration of your 6-night stay. Your appreciation will be passed on to Lyda, Lily and Freddy. Our people do try very hard and it is a great boost for morale when their efforts are individually acknowledged.
Come back again soon!
With kind regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2014

Being greeted at the glass of champagne at check in was the start to a perfect stay! I was pleasantly surprised at the generous size of the room, much larger than the standard. I liked the layout of the room and appreciated that the bathroom does not open directly onto the living area. The outlook was onto a courtyard area and away from the noise of the street and the window was able to be opened a little for natural ventilation. Our bags were delivered promptly to our room. One minor issue was that the electric jug was not working - took 3 tries to get a working one, but it was handled with good humour and prompt service. WIFI charges were a reasonable $10 for 24 hours and the free newspaper was appreciated.

Room tip: Away from the lifts reduces the noise form comings and goings of other guests.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2014

Dear DebV_10,
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were happy with the room configuration. I am sorry however if you were not offered complimentary membership to our Marriott Rewards program, as free wifi is included in the membership.
Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
With warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated in the theatre district of Melbourne. It is neat, clean and well maintained .Not luxury. It is let down by its restaurant which whilst producing excellent and well priced meals vary rarely changes its menu ,if at all.
However fortunately there are many good restaurants nearby hence on edoes not need to be confined to the hotel restaurant.
The breakfasts are excellent

Room tip: The rooms on the Exhibition street side get the sun which is lovely in winter.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2014

Dear Jim T,
Thank you for posting your review. We love to receive feedback from our guests.
You would be pleased to know that we are working on a new summer menu which will be out in a couple of weeks - and hope you will be back in Melbourne for a sampling!
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews