We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #11 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Modern rooms, with the comfortable Marriott bed. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the champagne on arrival is a nice touch. The lack of shower pressure is really the only downfall, but otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Fiona L,
Thanks so much for your posting. Good to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the glass of bubbles on arrival.
I was surprised to hear that you were disappointed with the lack of water pressure in the shower. This is not a concern we have experienced in the past and I feel it may have been a "one off" problem. We do our best to be "environmentally friendly" and changed our shower roses a while ago to reduce water consumption. We have a program in place to regularly clean the filters but I feel the one in your room may have been overdue. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and I will ensure that this maintenance is reviewed.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
There are newer reviews for Melbourne Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

Good location, nice & tidy, staff are friendly, room service is good, Great friendly service, we had comfortable and relaxing stay.The glass of champagne on arrival was a wonderful touch. We were made to feel very special.



Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Belinda1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear Belinda 1668,
Thanks so much for your review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay ..... and the welcome glass of bubbles!
Hope to have you back again.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

What a great experience, checking into the Marriott Hotel in Melbourne. Warm greetings make you feel very welcome, as does the glass of bubbly as you complete the check-in process. The lobby bar is comfortable and a nice place to unwind after work. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are well fitted out and lovely toiletries. The dressing room area is a nice touch. Great location close to favourite restaurants and China Town. I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LJG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear LJG27,
So pleased to hear that you were made to feel welcome during your recent stay with us. The additional space of the dressing area in our rooms is a great advantage - separting the bedroom from the bathroom. We'd love to have you back again.
Warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The entire staff, with special kudos to the Concierge Staff! Very professional in all situations. We have stayed at the many premier Marriott Hotels; this location tops them all! Service, Friendliness, Helpfulness, Thoughtfulness all were way above the norm.....we went on several tours during our stay: Tram Car Dinner; Phillips Island, etc....after each they asked how the tour was and even left a note in our room with a great bottle of Australian wine! How's that for real Service!!!!!! Outstanding!!!!!! Breakfast is great also!

Room Tip: If you arrive via the train, have a car service waiting, the train station is very busy!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Charles P,
It sounds like you managed to see a bit of our lovely city whilst you were here and I'm so pleased that our Concierge team was especially helpful.
Enjoy the rest of your trip!
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We usually stay at Marriott properties and normally wouldn't bother with a review but the service here was so outstanding wanted to give them a big thank you. What made it so special? We received a personal note from the front desk along with a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates. EVERY employee we met (in the halls, elevator, car attendant, etc.) were pleasant and went out of their way to say hello. Concierge helped with directions, maps, etc. When we were leaving and stepping out of the elevator 3 people helped with our luggage and loaded our waiting car. The doorman asked where we were going and then gave us a great map of the Great Ocean Road. We are from the USA and were impressed that they gave this wonderful service and not one asked for or even expected a tip! They just have great pride in what they do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank byedlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear byedlin,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. All feedback is most appreciated, but great feedback is wonderful to receive and makes us feel that what we are trying so hard to do is being appreciated. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Australia.
Kindest regards
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

The staff at this hotel is exceptional - friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The hotel is conveniently located for lots of Melbourne activities, and our room was well-appointed; we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Suzanne H,
What a great recommendation! Great to know you enjoyed your visit here with us at the Melbourne Marriott.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed at the Melbourne Marriott on Saturday night, wow we had a thoroughly
enjoyable stay, customer service and friendly staff made the difference in our
stay. Chocolates on our pillow, bottled water in our car on the way home, comfortable
Bedding, we have stayed other quality hotels but there was no customer service, they
Treated my family warmly and we were very happy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Anna l,
Thanks so much for your review. It's so pleasing to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,732 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,097 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $189 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing