We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated and dark. Very comfy bed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bit dated and dark. Very comfy bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed there in July. The rooms were dated and the whole hotel was somewhat dark. I really loved the hotel. Location is very good. Skipped the breakfast Buffett as it was pricey. The cafe had la carte items far lower price and was all tasty. Staff was friendly and courteous. The towels had a musty odor and were showing some wear. It must be a common thing with Marriott and musty towels, during my stay in Basel Switzerland courtyard also I had to deal with towel smell. Overall I liked this place.

Room Tip: Plenty of restaurants in and around within a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear FAAMA,
Many thanks for your posting following your visit last month with us at the Melbourne Marriott.
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay but most concerned that you found the towels a little "musty". This is not a problem I have been aware of and have highlighted it to our Housekeeper to ensure a closer check is carried out. Please accept our apologies on this occasion and thank you sincerely for bringing it to our attention.
Thank you also for mentioning that you found the hotel a little 'dark'. We do dim the ground floor lights at night for atmosphere - but perhaps a little too much - and I will look into it further.
We greatly value feedback and I am most appreciative of your comments.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    443
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
290
403
78
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel with our 2 year old. The rooms were spacious and nicely done. The staff from the lobby to the restaurants were all very helpful and attentive and made our stay wonderful.

The location is perfect in the cbd and you can walk to most of the places. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fly_to_heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear fly_to_heaven,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
I'm sure that travelling with a 2 year old would have its challenges, so it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to have you and the family back again soon.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Never in my stays in different Hotel have I been offered a drink while waiting to check in. That glass of Champagne was the start of a great day and night. Our bags where brought up to our room immediately. Room was very nice and clean. Very impressed with the staff. They were very pleasant and so willing to assist. Location was excellent. We went to see Le Mis so it was the perfect place to stay. I mentioned at the desk when I checked in that we were going to the show and on our arrival back in our room after the show we found a complimantary bottle of red wine and chocolates. Highly recommend this hotel based on my first stay there. Will definitely go back again. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Enza C,
I was so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us ..... and hope you enjoyed the show too.
Thank you for mentioning that you were impressed with our staff. They really do their best to ensure our guests are well looked after.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
With warm regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley edge
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Spent 1st weekend of August here with our 3 children - emailed ahead to check we had interconnecting rooms and knew we'd be arriving late from the UK. Check in was efficient, good sized rooms with all amenities. Very comfy beds & good linen but exceptionally noisy air conditioning. even when turned off air con banged intermittently. should have said something at the time really. Had breakfast upstairs in exec lounge, which was self service and good. Staff very friendly and helpful in giving us directions and checking that everything was ok (especially Anthony). Pool area a bit small & water very cold. No option of relaxing with a drink or snack by the pool - jacuzzi area warmed us up though!! All in all an ok stay made better by staff's excellent friendliness!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ddikelly,
We were delighted to have you and the family with us recently.
I am sorry you didn't mention your concern with the air conditioning at the time as we could either have fixed the problem, or moved you to other rooms. On any future visits please do not hesitate to mention any concerns and we will do our best to ensure you are as comfortable as possible.
Your appreciation will be passed on to our team, especially Anthony our Concierge. He has a wealth of knowledge and is always keen to assist.
I hope you and the children enjoyed you Melbourne visit.
With kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend here and couldn't have asked for better service. Great staff, the hotel is clean and smells amazing! Perfect city location for the theatre and only a few blocks from the major shopping district. Will definitely return on our next visit to Melbourne!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Rebecca,
I was delighted to read your review following your visit here at the Melbourne Marriott at the weekend.
Come back again soon!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Central to the city centre with good cafes all around. The hotel is excellent for staff service and good size rooms. All facilities are first rate and we had a very happy stay at this hotel. We found the amenities in the rooms are everything you may want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toptreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear toptreat,
I was so pleased to hear that you had a happy stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Australia ..... and the Melbourne Marriott ..... again.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Perfect location. Clean, nicely furnished rooms. Streamlined check in & check out, a lovely glass of bubbly by way of welcome! Had a slight hiccup with the room booked (my own fault, although they did not point this out!) & this was dealt with quickly and very efficiently, leaving me very impressed with everyone concerned. The staff there are absolutely amazing. When it was time to leave, my car battery had died, resulting in a call to RACV. The Conceirge & all the other staff there bent over backwards to make us comfortable while waiting for the car issue to be resolved and am still stunned at just how amazing they were. Marriott is now my Hotel of choice for all future stays in Melbourne. A very sincere thank you to them all.

Room Tip: Ask if soap brand has changed - the new line being used was, in my opinion quite smelly & didnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Julie G,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay .... but what a disappointment on departure to find your car's battery was flat! Glad to hear that our team did all they could to assist and hope it didn't disrupt your day too much. I will pass on your appreciation to our Front Office team.
I'm delighted that we are now your 'hotel of choice' in Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,530 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing