We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife, 2 year old child and I stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. We booked a direct transfer from the airport to the hotel. The rooms are nice and are of Marriott standards. The Executive lounge was nice and very calm.

We ate dinner one night at the restaurant downstairs and the prices are very expensive. However, restaurants are very expensive (for Americans) in Australia. The food was good though.

The location is in the heart of the city and it is located near many restaurants and shopping locations. We used points for our stay as the cost of the hotel rooms was very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dead ajphilly,

Thanks for writing posting a review following your recent visit to our hotel.

Glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time in Melbourne and at our hotel.

I do hope that we get to welcome you back in the future when you next visit Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    479
    103
    34
    14
See reviews for
326
462
86
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and many times before still the same helpful, friendly service. Rooms were clean and looked after well.
Love that it is so close to restaurants and public transport, taxis etc.
Had buffet breakfast both mornings it was delicious always look forward to it.
I will stay here every time I come to the city and recommend this hotel to everyone!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Krittypoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Krittypoo1,

Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay at our hotel.

Our chefs do a great job at our buffet breakfasts in the morning, and they always appreciate this positive feedback. Glad that you enjoyed our central location!

Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel is very centrally located, near the bus and train stations, Every staff member we encountered was so friendly and helpful (our expectations are very high for Marriott properties, and this one exceeded what we expected).

We had access to the Exec lounge so we had free breakfasts, evening snack and open bar-what more could you ask for? Our trip to Melbourne was great and it was only enhanced by our stay at this hotel. If you are looking for a hotel in Melbourne, you cannot go wrong if you pick this one.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Alan E,

WOW! What a fantastic to review! Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

It is so pleasing to hear that we exceeded your expectations! This is what our staff aim to do on a daily basis.

Also glad to hear that you enjoyed our executive lounge access, it certainly does provide good value.

I do hope that we see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a night out in the city and decided to stay. We had an awful night at the Langham a couple of weeks ago, so we thought we would try the Marriott! Fantastic night and the Langham could learn about customer service from the Marriott! It is completely the opposite of the Langham - a modern, clean, crisp 5 star, impeccable service, and much less expensive! Thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Donna S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent expereince with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your feedback to the team.

I do hope you consider staying with us again next time you are visiting Melbourne city.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Most hotels are just hotels there to provide a service for a price nothing more and hopefully nothing less.
The Melbourne Marriott always makes me feel like I've come home, it has a wonderful club feel to it that makes being away from home and juggling a busy schedule just that bit easier.
Sure there are newer glamor hotels in Melbourne but not many that when you tell the night staff where you are going for dinner the breakfast know where you went and ask how it was.
This is a hotel where the staff really do want to know who you are,what you like and don't and above all will remember.

Room Tip: Book well ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear David R,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel!

It is always pleasing to hear that we make guests feel at home. Our staff certainly do go out of their way to connect with guests, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

I do hope that we get to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Marriot staff courteous and friendly, from the free glass of champagne to the prompt automatic checkout, its also well located for the theatre district, shopping, and parks, can walk to the MCG in 15 mins. Chinatown round the corner.
For about 100 extra, can stay on the exec floor, with lounge access, great if friends are droping by for snack and drinks before the show.
Has a gym and spa pool too, free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Bryan W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an AMAZING review!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Sounds like you got to experience a lot of the attractions that surround the hotel such as the theatres, parks and shopping.

It is also pleasing to hear that you and your friends enjoyed some of the canapés and drinks that we offer in our executive lounge.

I do hope that we get to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Melbourne Marriott is in a great location being close to China Town and two live theatre venues.

Unfortunately, the hotel is let down on a number of fronts. The desk staff did not give a good first impression. There appeared to be an overly superior attitude. Would this be because I paid a discount price for the room having purchased a Wotif Mystery deal? The room was not clean. There was a short and curly hair on the bathroom vanity and scuff marks on the walls. The air conditioner belted out cold air on a cold day no matter what I did to the controls. I ended up just turning it off. It was incredibly noisy too. The furnishings didn't seem to have been made for the room. It all looked a bit tired. The bathroom looked recently renovated but it hadn't been 100% revamped. Why leave scratched, mismatched door furniture when everything else has been changed?

Altogether, I don't think this is a five star hotel. There are better hotels in Melbourne that will cost you less.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Lilytex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent experience with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. The points you raised have been adressed with the team. All of our rooms had a full refurbish in 2011 so it is surprising to hear some of these comments.

I would be more than happy to discuss these issues with you directly so please do get in contact with me at the hotel on (03) 9660 1158.

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,548 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing