We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is located right in the Melbourne, Australia, downtown area. It is very convenient to go to many good restaurants, shops and entertainment within walking distance. Be aware that shops are usually closed before 7 pm. Room is fine - not too big not too small. Hotel service is great. Executive lounge is small but good enough for a quick breakfast and happy hours cocktail. The happy hours cocktail provides many good wines, food and dessert. The food can fill you up so that you most likely do not need your dinner anymore.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stanley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Stanley C,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

It sounds like you got to experience our executive lounge during your stay with us, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our happy cocktail that we do every evening!

I do hope you consider staying with us again when you are next visiting Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    487
    105
    34
    14
See reviews for
338
478
87
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights for bussiness trip,,first time I enter the room I was amazed that the room is very big..The staff was very helpfull and friendly,,once I asked about the direction of a shopping center and tourism attraction nearby,,they explained to us clearly...so we didn't find any trouble to found it..
Maybe if there was a sugesstion from me,is the breakfast menu..I think the breakfast menu was less varied..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BayoeJabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear BayoeJabor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

It is very pleasing to hear that you were "amazed" by our rooms! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.

We have taken on your feedback about the breakfast.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were sent to The Marriott at the last minute when the accommodation we had previously arranged double booked us. We experienced helpful service, bubbles on arrival, a spacious room, comfortable bed, soft sheets, polite staff, and great coffee in their cafe. The location is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Kristin S,

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review about your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott!

I am very glad that both you and your partner enjoyed your stay here. You are right when in saying we have a fantastic location we certainly are very lucky to be right in the heart of the city!

I hope you choose to stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had a wonderful experience here. The concierge, Yasin, helped me find a restaurant and helped me find ways to get around the city. He suggested a wonderful japanese restaurant called Sake and it was great! I would suggest this hotel any friends and family.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and it had a lovely little balcony. Great for a coffee in the morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Rachel B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a post about your recent visit to the Melbourne Marriott.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and got to expereince some of the excellent restaurants we have in Melbourne!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff from check in to daily meetings with the concierge were friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to Tram stops, within walking distance to Victoria Market, China Town, Melbourne Museum and the Old Melbourne Gaol (jail).

Our room had a large flat panel television, sofa, chair and desk in addition to our king size bed.

I would highly recommend the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Karen F,

Wow such a fantastic review! Thank you very much Karen!

It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our hotel from the moment you checked in. It sounds like you got to stay in one of our King Bedroom Suites they certainly are very spacious, and perfect for a relaxing getaway.

I do hope we get to welcome you and your partner back to the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Well located, wonderful amenities, beautifully decorated rooms and as a Marriott Rewards member, they really know how to make you feel welcome and at home!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicolke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Nicolke,

Wow such a positive reivew! Thank you for taking the time to post this on tripadvisor.

It is pleasing to hear that we made you feel welcome and at home, this is what we aim to do.

Look forward to seeing you when you next visit Melbourne!

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have recently spent 2 weeks at the Marriott, I was pleasantly surprised on how helpful the staff are, This being my first time Australia and didn't know anything that was going on and felt quite intimidated by the huge city. However, By the first couple of days, I was navigating around and knew what was happening, I would like to say a special thank you to Brian that worked at the hotel at Breakfast for given me a great selection of things i can do in the evening. A proper Tour Guide.. I would also like to say thank you to Lucy in the bar for ideal chit chat... I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear GCrean,

Thank you so much for your very flattering review following your recent visit to Melbourne Marriott!

I am glad that our staff could help you out and make you feel comoftable around the city during your first visit to Australia, I do hope we made a good impression.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Brian and Lucy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,488 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,661 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing