We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great hotel, but warm room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #15 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but warm room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything went smoothly from check-in to check-out. Staff are wonderful and very professional. Rooms are big and very comfortable. I found the temperature control to be a bit annoying though - I was quite warm all night despite having the temperature set to its lowest level. Would definitely stay here again. Location was terrific - Chinatown right at your doorstep and convenient for sporting events at the MCG, AAMI Park and Rod Laver Arena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear puntrd,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and post some gret photos of your recent stay with us here at Melbourne Marriott.

Sorry to hear you were having trouble with temperature control in the room, our front office staff are always willing to help in these situations. I am pleased though that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and got to explore a few of the attractions that surround us.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us when you are next in town.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    413
    90
    33
    13
See reviews for
275
368
74
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hi

I Stayed at the marriott last week when I came to watch king kong with my partner and moment we got off from the car the service was exceptional, small made Asian gent helped us with the bags and car & a young gentleman name peter who had a genuine smiling face waiting to check us in as if we were his favorite guest even before we even checked in who made us feel so welcoming to the hotel which is very rare to see now a days in hotels & after coming from the show we had card and wine as well and guess who it was from PETER , also in the restaurant the staff was extremely helpful and friendly and breakfast buffet was beautiful,

want to thank you for accommodating us with such genuine care and I would love to say it was one our best hotel stays ever and will definitely come back and please pass on my appreciation towards your staff and specifically peter who made the x Factor for us ,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ralphii,

WOW what an amazing review to read! Thank you so much, it is reviews like these that inspires myself and the team to deliver exceptional guest expereinces day after day.

I am so pleased to hear of your experience with our staff, in particular Peter. Our staff certainly do love going the extra mile to make our guests feel special.

Your story has been shared with the team.

Thank you once again we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location.very informative concierge .stayed with my wife and two kids for a week. Definitely will be back when I'm in Melbourne . They even help to park our rental car and return it to the car rental company.

Room Tip: Don't take the club room. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSK24JAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear KSK24JAM,

Thank you very much for the review on your recent stay with us.

Our concierge team definetely do take great pride in knowing the latest happenings in Melbourne, I am glad they were able to make your stay with us memorable.

I do hope we get to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this hotel. First, the service was outstanding. We were unilaterally upgraded to a suite because our booked room wasn't ready. Our room was fantastic. We had an enormous living room and a large separate bedroom. There were two bathrooms, which is such an added convenience for a family of four. The beds were very comfortable. Room service was great. The concierge service was excellent. They booked us theater and museum exhibit tickets. They also directed us to a nearby wash and fold laundry when I mentioned the high cost of the hotel laundry. They even sent someone to pick up our laundry for us when we were at the museum exhibit when the laundry was ready. Unbelievably nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 1Karen1,

Thank you so much for your absolutely lovely review of your recent expereince at Melbourne Marriott in one of our King Suites.

I am delighted to hear you found our staff service "outstanding" we pride ourselves on providing that wow factor, I will be sure to share your story with the team.

It also sounds you like you made the most of your time in Melbourne by enjoying the theatre and musuem which are both close by!

I do hope to be able to welcome you and your family back when you next visit Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last year I stayed at the Hotel on a number of occasions. It is in a great location for business and pleasure. You can walk most places, public transportation is at your doorstep.

The facilities are very good. Good gym, with a unique setting. The Staff are the best. As an example, my batteries for my laptop mouse ran out one afternoon. There was a store, right across the street, I came down and was going to run across to purchase replacements. The Staff saw me, asked if they could do anything, then just got me some batteries out of thier stock. Many stories like that.

There are a lot higher priced hotels in Melbourne, and I stayed in some of those, but none better, than the Melbourne Marriott.


Dutch Schultz

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Dutch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 808Dutch32,

Wow! Thank you so much for your very flattering review of your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoy the hotels location, as you mentioned we are in a great position to cater for both business and leisure travellers being close to the heart of the city it is very convenient.

I will definetely pass on your kind words to the front office team, we constantly aim to exceed guests expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Typically I am a business traveler & this hotel generally caters to business people. I found the premises to equal or exceed Marriott's standards & found the staff to be very friendly & courteous.
I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Tony C,

Thank you so much for your post and rating following your recent stay with us.

I am so thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us both whilst on business and on vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Champagne and a friendly welcome, from a whole array of staff, on arrival. Very quiet room, exceptionally quiet, on the 8th floor. Room layout with passage leading to bathroom very good. Not sure that wireless internet was working. Café downstairs did a very good breakfast. Easy walking distance for shopping, very close to theatres. Enjoyed Trunk restaurant a few doors away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MML651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MML651,

WOW! Thankyou so much for such a great review on your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay right from the beginning with a freidnly check in and complimentary glass of champagne.

Our chefs do an excellent job with the buffet breakfasts and it is always reassuring to get given some positive feedback so I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Melbourne Marriott soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,481 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,227 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing