We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Staff and location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Last year I stayed at the Hotel on a number of occasions. It is in a great location for business and pleasure. You can walk most places, public transportation is at your doorstep.

The facilities are very good. Good gym, with a unique setting. The Staff are the best. As an example, my batteries for my laptop mouse ran out one afternoon. There was a store, right across the street, I came down and was going to run across to purchase replacements. The Staff saw me, asked if they could do anything, then just got me some batteries out of thier stock. Many stories like that.

There are a lot higher priced hotels in Melbourne, and I stayed in some of those, but none better, than the Melbourne Marriott.


Dutch Schultz

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Dutch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear 808Dutch32,

Wow! Thank you so much for your very flattering review of your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoy the hotels location, as you mentioned we are in a great position to cater for both business and leisure travellers being close to the heart of the city it is very convenient.

I will definetely pass on your kind words to the front office team, we constantly aim to exceed guests expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    483
    103
    34
    14
See reviews for
330
469
87
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Typically I am a business traveler & this hotel generally caters to business people. I found the premises to equal or exceed Marriott's standards & found the staff to be very friendly & courteous.
I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Tony C,

Thank you so much for your post and rating following your recent stay with us.

I am so thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us both whilst on business and on vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Champagne and a friendly welcome, from a whole array of staff, on arrival. Very quiet room, exceptionally quiet, on the 8th floor. Room layout with passage leading to bathroom very good. Not sure that wireless internet was working. Café downstairs did a very good breakfast. Easy walking distance for shopping, very close to theatres. Enjoyed Trunk restaurant a few doors away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MML651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MML651,

WOW! Thankyou so much for such a great review on your recent stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott.

It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay right from the beginning with a freidnly check in and complimentary glass of champagne.

Our chefs do an excellent job with the buffet breakfasts and it is always reassuring to get given some positive feedback so I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Melbourne Marriott soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having just returned from a two week trip to Australia and having stayed in 3 Marriott Properties, the Melbourne Marriott was the best of the three. The hotel is a bit smaller than the Marriotts in Sydney and Gold Coast. The service and atmosphere was top rate. The hotel had a cozy feel to it and it is a little dated. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Location was perfect for us... Many many great restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. Melbourne is a Foodie Paradise! Pros and Cons:

1. Great Location- Close to China Town, major shopping, and major sites the location is superb.
2. Wonderful Service- On more than one occasion, a staff member went out of the way to help us with a request. The simple things add up. Every morning at breakfast, one of the staff remembered which news paper I liked and delivered it to our table. Great Service!
3. Great Breakfast!
4. Large, Nice Rooms- The rooms were the largest of the three Marriott's we stayed in.

Cons:
1. Lacked 5 star services- Hotel did not have a spa, etc. In scope, this is hotel is limited to 4 stars. A strong 4 star hotel.

Overall, we would stay at this hotel again. Great location and very strong service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear tpwoofs,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your recent expereince with us. It is great to hear that you you had the chance to visit three of our five Marriott properties in Australia!

It is also very pleasing to hear that our staff members went above and beyond to exceed your expecations, that is what we aim to do. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to all of our staff.

Unfortunately we do not have a spa within the hotel, however there is a Spa we often refer guests to that is located on Collins Street.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Melbourne Marriott in the future.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let me preface this by saying this hotel is geared more towards business than luxury or leisure. The staff was mostly helpful with just a few exceptions. The location is okay, but not that great. The hotel definitely shows its age, as the hotel smells like chemicals and seems generally run down. It was still a pleasant experience but if you were looking for a leisure/luxury hotel, this hotel may not suit your needs. But for a business traveler, there is free WiFi in the lobby and there is wireless connectivity in the rooms. The restaurant is okay, but you can find better food outside. The hotel is right next to Chinatown so a short walk and there are many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. There is also a 7-eleven right in front of the hotel to suit your convenience shopping needs. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy and the TV was a flat screen. They housekeeper also left a pack of jelly candies when the rooms were serviced. It's a great hotel, but a remodel might not be a bad idea either. If you aren't looking for luxury, this is a standard Marriott hotel and is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawsonDotJung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfect location. Awesome staff. Room was great. Price was decent.I really think it is odd that tripadvisor forces you to say 200 characters. I would stay here again. Considered the Westin but for the price difference I am glad I went with the Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Xblade,

Thank you for you so much for your great review following your recent stay with us

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the location and found our staff "awesome" I will be sure to pass this on to the team.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the property soon.

Sincerely,

Edward White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came down from Sydney last minute and Melbourne accommodation was relatively expensive when looking for a room for 3 adults. I had recently accrued Silver Status with Marriott and thought I would use some of those points towards the 2 nights we stayed. We were greeted with smiles and a glass of champagne each which was a nice touch. I was informed that they had a king room available which would segregate the rooms for privacy if we wanted it. It was only $40 more than the $60 extra per night we were paying for the extra person, so I thought it might be appropriate. I didn't actually think that our friend would be going from a comfortable lovely double bed to a roll in single that looked like it came from an Army barracks, lucky for us our friend was from an Army barracks and she reported the bed as being comfortable. The king bed, pillows and bedding was divine and the room huge. As our friend picked us up at the airport she had to park her car for the weekend so we opted for the hotel service at $40 a night, so 2 nights in the Marriott with a free night cost $547 vice $379. I agreed to all the additives but you obviously don't get something for nothing except a glass of champers and good service. If you can afford it is a nice hotel but the service from all staff definitely makes the stay worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get some extras thrown in and the king room is great. They do have deals that include extras...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mickru,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review of your recent expereince in one of our King Bedroom Suites. We always value our Marriott Reward Guests feedback.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary glasses of champagne on arrival and that our front office team made you feel welcome.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing