We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not so bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not so bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night with my friend, staf were very friendly, the valet parking and glass of champagne on arrival makes one feel special , we had a swim soon after arriving and worked out a bit in the gym, OMG! The beds r the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, so comfy I slept like a baby.the only problems we had were that the heating wasn't working, we called reception and they sent a heater for us, another downside is getting charged for room service?? I dont get that part, Also tv channels were boring, and very few movies to rent. Ovaral it's a good hotel, if stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniiwacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    423
    92
    33
    14
See reviews for
278
379
76
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The location is excellent. It was close to everything for us and we could walk everywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Oh my god where do I start with the beds!! They really were evil because they were SOO comfy and soft. I never wanted to get out of it!! I would stay there again just for the beds!! The room was a decent size, the facilities were great and it had everything we needed and the room service prices were very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this hotel as we had a great stay here and would definitely stay here again. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good feedback is always great to receive! Our beds are very comfortable. The mattresses have soft toppers which you can sink into (but still have the mattress support) and we receive great comments about them. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this brilliant hotel during our recent visit to Melbourne. It was our first time staying at Melbourne Marriott and so glad we did.

Hotel staff were all friendly and courteous. In particular, the bell attendant Fabrizio was great -courteous, attentive, friendly and welcoming. We were offered a glass of sparkling wine while waiting at Reception to be checked in - very welcoming gesture :)

The hotel is so conveniently located - easy walking access to so many wonderful restaurants of Melbourne, shops, NGV, China Town etc.

Our room on Level 8 was spacious, clean and well equipped. Although facing Exhibition Street which was constantly busy, it was very quiet in the room.

Hotel Buffet breakfast included standard cold and cooked breakfast - all very good quality. We had breakfast at the hotel only once mainly because there were so many other breakfast venues near the hotel which offered some really interesting breakfast and coffee. Too tempting not to check them out.

The Concierge was busy with another guest when we checked out mid morning. As there was no other bell staff available, we went to the front of the hotel to get a taxi ourself (always plenty waiting just across the road from the hotel). As we stepped out, a gentleman asked if we needed a taxi and we said yes thinking he was a hotel staff offering his help. He then said his car was just over there, pointing to a private car parked in the hotel drop off area at the front of the hotel. Suspecting that he may just be a tout, we declined and waved for a taxi from across the road. It was strange that the hotel allowed a private car to be parked in their drop off area and presenting themselves as "taxi".

Room Tip: Request rooms on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I made the right choice for a birthday weekend and made her happy!!!

Marriott Melbourne was just perfect for our needs. We ambled across the road to a Sunday matinee at the Comedy Theatre (200 metres) to see the finale of Flower Children - The Mamas and Papas Story. Very clean 5 star room and great breakfast to make us both cheery. Slick service, no fuss simple efficiency - all we needed for a short break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birdseyeGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Great to hear that breakfast left you both cheery and delighted you enjoyed your short break here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked accommodation online one evening during school holidays and arrived next morning with my two daughters so fingers crossed everything was going to be OK. No issues on arrival. Booking all in order and bed configuration incorporated our needs. A queen and a double would have been good though instead of two doubles. Got to check in a bit earlier at no extra cost which was very much appreciated due to our early flight. Room very clean and spacious, beds very comfortable and an abundance of towels - always appreciated by girls! We were very comfortable in our room. Girls made use of pool (does need a little revamp) and sauna. All very clean though with plenty of towels provided. Gym looked good. I didn't use it but could see that plenty of clients did. Great location, walking distance to everything, hop, skip and jump to free City Circle Tram. Only downsides were; didn't get a breakfast deal and at $35 per head for buffet was very expensive. WIFI also expensive. Could only purchase 24 hours at a minimum (for anything above and beyond emails/web browse). We were out sight seeing for 75% of this time. Maybe an accumulative rate would be more attractive? Felt slightly ripped off as we skyped dad in Sydney on his return from work and lost our connection. All in all though, I would stay here again. Staff extremely helpful and the Concierge on duty always went above and beyond without me having to ask.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYHAPPY975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
So pleased that you and your two daughters enjoyed your stay. If you become a Marriott Rewards member (which is free to join), internet connection is just $9.95 per day. Free wifi is also available in all public areas of the hotel, and there is no fee to use our business centre computers. Glad to hear that our staff were helpful. We do have packages which include breakfast, so be sure to check these out when planning any future visits as they are better value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaulieu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a brilliant location.the service was faultless from the breakfast waiter who ran off to google info for us for our days site seeing (without being adked), to the bottle of wine and chocolates that appeared in our room to say sorry fora faulty safe that was repaired first thing next morning. Loved the hotel room was a little dark but very ckean and comfy and nicely furnished. Our trip was completed when at 4am the receptionist waived us off with a breakfast box....perfect stay and highly reccomended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I advance booked a room with the Marriott direct through their website... We decided to stay at the Marriott because we were looking for a room with 2 double beds and a sofa bed which is hard to find but the description on the room we selected at the Marriott fit this configuration so we went with that reservation.I was travelling with my 2 daughters and a friend. We checked in early, as room was not ready we left for the day and returned in the evening. On entering our room we discovered...no sofa bed! On calling concierge and dealing with duty manager we were told the hotel had no rooms with this description even though we had our reservation printed out in black and white which clearly shows that is what we booked and paid for. We were advised there was nothing they could do for us, the hotel was booked out and no other rooms were available. This caused an extremely awkward situation as now my friend had to share with my daughter and I with the other. We were however treated to breakfast which was a kind gesture on the marriotts behalf. I am well travelled and will not be ever staying at any Marriott hotel again. False advertising! What was to be a fantastic night ended up being an immensely uncomfortable one. I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honest11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,615 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,325 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing