We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal for Business Trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal for Business Trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for work for 5 nights back in November 2012.

Overall the stay was very good, I can't comment on cost vs. value as it was a company trip, but I found that the service was impeccable. I was greeted by name upon entering the lobby of the hotel (I can only assume that the valet informed them of my arrival after he took my car keys) but hey the little things are what make your stay that much more enjoyable. The room was well appointed, really large bed, excessive number of pillows. Bathroom was a bit cramped in my opinion, but that was balanced by the room itself being quite spacious. Room had a nice glass work desk that was useful during my stay. Also, from what I remember there was free internet for Marriott Rewards members, so made use of that. I used the hotel parking each day, and to be honest this was quite expensive, but as mentioned service was good and you can put up with the cost because finding long term parking in the CBD is a tough ask. The attached bar/restaurant served a good breakfast selection, however the rather frosty reception I received from the maitre'd before breakfast did put a damper on the whole experience.

All in all, excellent location, very elegant rooms, comfortable beds, and generally nice staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidkiwitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Melbourne Marriott ..... but most concerned to hear of the rather 'frosty' greeting on arrival at breakfast. This was most upsetting as we place great importance on the training of our associates. Please accept our sincere apologies for the cool start to your day and thank you for bringing it to our attention. Please be assured it has already been followed up. Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    415
    90
    33
    14
See reviews for
277
368
74
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My recent stay here was a bit of a disappointment compared with the numerous Marriott Hotels I have stayed in across the world. In all I would have to say the room, service and Executive level were just OK, but not up to the usual Marriott standard I have come to enjoy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper keep away from the Executive levels on the 9th and 10th floors. The air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked the Marriott on Lastminute.com and this was rated 5*, not self rated but independent. So we were slightly disappointed with some of hotel. The swimming pool, was dated, the bathroom had no bath, a must for a 5* hotel and the bed was very uncomfortable. That said the service was very good, the linen fab and the room large. As a family this hotel was a hit with our eight old.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneAbertawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Great to hear your 8 year old enjoyed the stay. Sorry to hear of your disappointment in not having a bath and that you found the bed uncomfortable. Our mattresses have a soft 'topper' which most of our guests like, but if you prefer a firmer feel this can easily be removed. Please do not hesitate to request this on any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Austalia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for 8 days on combined business pleasure trip.
I had requested an upgrade to a queen higher level room on level 10 which proved to be a good decision, giving the benefit of an extra room to work, a walk in wardrobe and separate bedroom.
The room had a view over Melbourne street and offices.
All usual amenities were provided none stood out as extra special.
I had breakfast everyday in the restaurant, a large range of options were provided including a range of cooked to order items.
What stands out for me was the staff, they were friendly and helpful. From sparkling wine on arrival to the turn down service everything was delivered with a smile.
As with most businesses what separates good form great is the staff and this is true of the Marriott.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher level. If you can afford and upgrade get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liana59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Feedback is always good to hear and it was rewarding to know that our training is working. Our people do try very hard and your comments will be passed on. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights - Friday and Sat night - for a romantic weekend. Right from the get go the service was fantastic - we loved the champagne on arrival! They offered us an upgrade for a minimal fee to a one bedroom suite - which we took and did not regret it. Spacious room with city views. There was a slight hiccup when they didn't realize we had upgraded our room and there was a delay in bringing up our bags, but they apologized with chocolates which was appreciated. Perfect location with easy access to everything and plenty of public transport. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cehol6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Booked and prepaid a twin room (not guaranteed twin beds, but they were provided) for a weekend with my adult daughter to celebrate her birthday. The service was almost universally friendly, smiling and helpful. We were offered sparkling wines each as we checked in! We accepted.

The room was spacious, the beds big, luxurious and comfortable and the bathroom everything we could want - as long as we didn't want a bath, with excellent water pressure and easy to use shower. We were both used to firmer pillows than provided, but didn't ask for replacements. In hindsight, I'm sure they would have done. It's a 4 1/2 star hotel, and the are certainly cheaper option around for less money with less stars. But this was worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013AnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
All our twin rooms have double beds which can also be handy with children. Sorry to hear about your disappointment that the room didn't have a bath. We do have a spa in the pool area - but if you were not aware prior to your stay, you wouldn't have brought something to wear. Hope your daughter enjoyed her birthday celebration here in the city ! Thank you for recommending us ..... and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Melbourne Marriott for three nights while touring in Australia. The hotel has a great location and is within short walking distance of theater, Chinatown and many restaurants. The concierge was very friendly and looked for ways to make your visit better. Nice breakfast area and lounge within the hotel. The rooms were clean and about average in size for a hotel of that quality. Since it's in the middle of a big city, rooms on the lower floors were more susceptible to street noise. All in all, a very good place, and if we ever return to Melbourne, we'd likely stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbw8461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It's a great opportunity to get to know the city when you are here for 3 nights. Although the Melbourne Marriott is in such a central location you would have had time to travel a little further afield. Hope you're back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,515 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition And Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and service that is unparalleled amongst other Melbourne luxury hotels. Boutique in size, yet grand in style, the Marriott offers the perfect welcome. Featuring spacious rooms, starting from 36 square meters in size, our luxury Melbourne hotel's accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets, as well as the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown, Melbourne Museum and Royal Exhibition Building. For sports enthusiasts, our hotel is a short walk from MCG and Rod Laver Arena and only a seven-minute tram ride to Etihad Stadium. And for business travelers, we offer stylish, state-of-the-art event space for up to 250 guests, as well as on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury Melbourne hotels at Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing