We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quality hotel - great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Quality hotel - great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Melbourne Marriott is very well run and maintained - as a business traveler you generally hope most of all for a hassle-free experience and this certainly delivers. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean, and service is professional.

The restaurant is good for breakfast but has a surprisingly lacklustre menu for dinner (and also room service) - central Melbourne is very well equipped with restaurants however so there are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Sorry to hear that your room wasn't ready on arrival,particularly when you had a tired toddler with you. Our check-in time is 2.00pm and unfortunately we cannot guarantee availability prior to this time. Being a 'low rise' building in the heart of the CBD does make views difficult, but the Exhibition Street room allocations are brighter rooms with a better outlook. Pleased to hear that you otherwise enjoyed your visit and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    443
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
290
403
78
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. Perfect location, close to everything in the city.

We had a family room with two double beds and a small cloak room area.

The staff were wonderful. Valet was quick and friendly, reception staff were very helpful and check in and check out fast.

The breakfast was very nice and although the pool area was average it was still okay for our family.

The only disappointment for us was that our room was still not ready when we arrived on time for our booking. We had a very tired toddler who had just endured a 10+ hour flight and were asked to wait whilst our room was prepared. We were given an alternative to pay for an upgraded room with a city view rather than wait.

Sadly the city view was not overly impressive and looked straight into a building across the road.

Other than this everything about our stay was wonderful.

Internet was very very high priced, however we notice that unlike Europe and Asia, Australia is very behind the times with internet pricing in hotels.

We would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a "city view" upgrade unless you see the city view first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I travel a lot for work and sometimes stay in Marriotts if I can in different parts of the world.

Location of this one was OK
Staff unhelpful, lady at check-in kept telling me that she didn't have a king available - then manager came and changed it. First she said we needed to pay for internet, I pointed out that I was a member (as I told her 1 minute before) after which she said, oh well, then you don't need to pay - as if it was a battle she had lost - yet in any other Marriott, this would be standard service. That kind of stuff is just below any standard.

Room did not have a view, in fact we were facing a wall.

Would not go back and in fact this stay has changed my previous generally positive view on Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michiel_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I was most concerned to hear of your disappointment with your check-in experience. We try very hard to ensure our guests are made to feel welcome on arrival, but obviously we fell short on this occasion. Complimentary internet access is extended to Marriott Reward members and I am very sorry for the confusion you were confronted with. Not being aware of your arrival, it is impossible for us to find out who checked you in, but we place great importance on training of our associates so please be assured your experience will be highlighted in future training to ensure a similar situation does not occur again. Not being a high-rise property in the heart of the CBD, unfortunately all rooms do not have expansive views. On any future visits however please do not hesitate to request a room on the Exhibition Street side which has a very pleasant outlook. Please give us another chance to prove to you that we normally do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived Easter weekend for a short visit to Melbourne before heading down to the coast. Convenient location for exploring and comfortable room for 3 of us. Our request for early check in was taken care of despite the hotel being busy. Had also requested a quiet room - at the end of a corridor & no problem with noise from the street. Very helpful, pleasant staff at reception and the concierge desk, which always counts for a lot. No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumintheSun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So pleased you and the family enjoyed your short visit to Melbourne ..... and the Melbourne Marriott! We always do our best to meet requests from our guests and glad you were happy with your quiet room. Look forward to welcoming you back again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found this great place to stay to over Easter to enjoy the Comedy Festival. All the show venues we attended were within walking distance from the hotel which was really good. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a little hiccup with our booking but it was confidently sorted and we upgraded. Downside was the fold up bed was a bit uncomfortable for our son but as soon as another was available it was replaced. We stayed in a very pleasant one bedroom suite. The photos of "old Melbourne" really give the place a nice feel and the orchids in the room are real plants.The staff were all confident and capable in their duties. I could not fault any of them. This was our second stay at the Marriott Melbourne. We really enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
So sorry to hear there was confusion with your booking - but pleased that it was sorted out with hopefully not too much inconvenience. You'd be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of purchasing new mattresses for our rollaway beds as we have been aware that time has taken its toll. Hope your son was comfortable with the replacement. Thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We got a great deal over the Easter Long weekend through QuickBeds.com.au which our travel agent put us onto. The rate we got was excellent for this standard of hotel. WIthout a doubt we had the best stay and cannot fault the hotel. We had 2 teenage children/2 adults and the room was plenty big enough for us - 2 Double beds with a courtyard. The bathroom was a great size and very clean. The breakfast was outstanding - in fact the best buffet we have ever had! They had smoothies, pancake machine, freshly cooked to order omelettes, Lattes from the cafe included and even sparkling orange juice. We sat at a corner table with a great street view - and the lady running the cafe (sorry I don't know her name but long blond hair - was ever so helpful and lovely). We even got some sparkling on check in. The location was perfect for everything we needed to do - hop on/off (free) bus, Free tram, normal trams and walking distance to Bourke St etc. Kids and hubby loved the pool, gym and pay TV. Loved this hotel and will definitely only stay here in Melbourne. The only negative thing which didn't affect us because we have Australian mobile plans was that you had to pay for the wifi in your room - might be a bit expensive if you needed it. There was also a table set up in the foyer for little kids activities which would be great if you had littlies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawesFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review - and delighted you enjoyed your stay. Will pass on your appreciation to the breakfast team. Your children would have been far too old for the kid's table that we set up for Easter, but it did prove to be a winner with the younger ones. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights to explore Melbourne. The location is great and it is very convenient to explore Melbourne without the need of having a car.

We stay a lot at Marriott hotels around the world and this one fully met our expectations.
Our room was nice and cozy. Bathroom was clean and nice. The breakfast was a bit expensive, but excellent.

On the second day I picked up a rental car and parking in front of the street was very convenient.

In case I go back to Melbourne I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Also try to have breakfast in the hotel neighborhood. Great places are within 5 min walking distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relssog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbourneMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback ..... and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is in a great location to explore the city, so hope you had a good look around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,832 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing